Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Wool batting compared to cotton/wool blend batting.

Wool batting compared to cotton/wool blend batting.

Do you have a preference? Connecting threads has a sale on batting and I'm considering wool this time. They also have a cotton/wool blend. I know this has been around the block a few times but I've never used wool batting before. thanks in advance for your opinions!
    SEW MUCH FUN!

I bought some wool and wool blend. Haven't used it as yet. Have wanted to try some but the wool is expensive so when I got an email last month that they had a 1 day 50% off on batting I bought some. Have 2 tops that are finally done and am going to use for those. Both of these battings seem really soft. Can't give a preference as to which I like better at this time.

I have only used wool once. I put cotton next to the backing and the wool next to the top. Very warm.
    I like it.
    Mie

The only piece so far where I've used wool batting was an art quilt that I did a layer of wool batting over a layer of bamboo. I wanted the wool for it's loft as there were some areas in the quilt that I wanted to do some faux trapunto. It worked beautifully for that. I did find that it was a little more slidey (if that's a word) while quilting when used as a layer over the bamboo--I'm not sure if that would be a problem with it if used on its own.

Rob
    1955 Singer Featherweight 221/ Late 60's early 70's White Selectronic 970/
    1975 Kenmore 158 model 1914/. 1981 Brother VX560/ Brother PC420PRW/
    Brother PQ1500s/ HQSweetSixteen