Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Elna vs Janome >

Elna vs Janome

Elna vs Janome

Old 11-08-2013, 03:38 PM

Default Elna vs Janome

I am new to sewing/quilting, and am looking for the right machine to upgrade from my Bernette. Just from looking online I was thinking about the Janome 11000 SE, but then I found the Elna 9600 which looks the same. Apparently Janome bought Elna... so I am assuming they are the same machine with a different badge?

Anyone know how Elna and Janome differ?
Old 11-08-2013, 05:05 PM

No real big differences that I am aware of. The warranty card for Elna even goes to Janome. All the Janome accessories fit Elna (so far anyway!). I had a Janome, then last year I decided to trade up to a model with more features, and when I went to pick it up, the dealer told me I could go up another step more for $500 if I went with the Elna version - I have the 740 Excellence by Elna and love it.
Old 11-08-2013, 07:24 PM

I have the Janome 11000se, and really, really love this machine most of the time. I have had a bit of trouble with thread breaking while machine embroidering, but think it has more to do with the thread I am using - from Metro threads - than with the machine. I don't know anything about Elna.
Old 11-08-2013, 09:16 PM

My dealer told me they are same company. The workings of the machines are the same, they just make the casings different.
Old 11-29-2013, 03:59 AM

Both are the embroidery format .jef. Elna has pretty machines. I wonder why we don't hear more about them. This Janome fan is intrigued!

sandy
Old 11-30-2013, 08:30 AM