Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Embroidery Question

  1. #1
    Super Member katesnanna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,134
    Blog Entries
    15
    I'm hoping someone who does embroidery may be able to help me. I have a Janome 10000+ embroidery machine. Recently I purchased some new flash memory cards and while I can write to them my machine won't recognize them . It keeps telling me there is a memory error.
    I bought the cards from the same lady I have always purchased from. I have formatted the cards. I can write to my older cards and they show on my machine screen just fine. This has happened with 4 new cards.

  2. #2
    Super Member CoyoteQuilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    2,306
    I don't have a Janome, but when this happens to me I have not written them to the card in the right format. My digitizing software has 3 or 4 different extensions (you know the 3 letters after the . dot) and if I haven't saved in the right extensions it says there is an error when I try to load it on the machine.

    Good luck and let us know how you fixed this....

  3. #3
    a regular here cutebuns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    middle of a farmer field
    Posts
    15,001
    Are they the same size cards? Memory wise? I know with some things that read the cards they will only read a certain size, like one of the kids cameras won't read anything over a 2KB.

  4. #4
    Super Member katesnanna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,134
    Blog Entries
    15
    Thank you for answering. Coyote Quilts - I only save files in jef
    Cutebuns - yes they are all 64MB

  5. #5
    a regular here cutebuns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    middle of a farmer field
    Posts
    15,001
    Then I would guess that it was how they are formatted. Technology tends to change and sometimes it leaves some things behind in the dark ages. So even the same program when it is updated can change and not work the same, this is a guess, not for sure.

    Are you writing to the cards the same way? I have a brother and not Janome but a lot of them a similar. when I upgraded programs to the 7 I have to write to the cards for the older one a different way and can only put one design on a card for the machine to read it, otherwise I get an error message.

  6. #6
    Super Member katesnanna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,134
    Blog Entries
    15
    No, I put a couple of designs onto an old card and that worked fine. I wrote to some old cards just a few days ago. Think I'll have to contact the lady I bought them from.
    Thanks for your suggestions. I've racked my brain and also talked to a friend who has 2 embroidery machines. Just thought I'd ask here as there are so many people and everyone is very helpful.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.