Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: EQ Question

  1. #1
    RST
    RST is online now
    Senior Member RST's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    692
    Blog Entries
    6
    Several years ago I bought EQ used on ebay. It was version 2. I've since lost that CD (beyond frustrating, and it will probably show up when I give up looking for it.)

    But my question is -- does anyone know if EQ2 works with Windows 7? I know that the upgrades cost a fair amount, so at this point, it's probably not cost effective to try to upgrade my version 2 anyhow.

    If anyone is a longtime EQ user, how has the current software changed from version 2? I did enjoy using it, but I didn't find it to be all that easy to navigate, and since the majority of my quilts are not ultra-planned, I'm unsure if I would want to invest in the new EQ.

    Thanks for you input--
    RST

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3,422
    I have EQ5; never really figued it out well enough to use it...but I've seen really lovely staff planned out on it. I was tempted to get the upgraded versions too, but don't feel like I can figure it out.

  3. #3
    Moderator Jim's Gem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Camarillo, California
    Posts
    35,389
    It is currently at EQ 7 and not having used the earlier versions, I have heard that it has changed a whole lot. Like really really different.

  4. #4
    Super Member featherweight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westminster, Co
    Posts
    2,700
    I had three and never used it. My friend gave me EQ5 and so far I haven't had time to mess with it either. I guess my thoughts are that there is to many pretty patterns out there that I am not going to be designing any soon.

  5. #5
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,015
    EQ 7 is alot easier and more capabilites than EQ2. To upgrade version 2 to 7 would cost more than just buying version 7.
    There is alot more info on using 7 than any previous version.

  6. #6
    Super Member scowlkat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,532
    Blog Entries
    11
    I doubt if there is any compatibility with ver. 2 of EQ and Windows 7. You could go to EQ's web site and ask but seriously, windows has been through two updates (first Vista and now 7) and EQ has been drastically changed. It requires a lot of time and money to keep versions compatible through that many updates. Really you should consider just getting at least EQ 6 if you can't manage EQ 7. The difference between EQ5 and 6 was so dramatic and so worthwhile! The differences between 6 and 7, while wonderful, would not make me spend the extra money ifI didn't have it. I wouldn't even waste the time looking for version 2!

  7. #7
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,664
    Blog Entries
    2
    know EQ3 was on the disk and not on cd. Are you sure it is EQ2? I really don't think version 2 was ever on cd. The Ebay seller may have copied it to cd. And EQ2 was not windows based.

  8. #8
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,302
    http://electricquilt.com/Support/TechMail/TechMail.asp

    Ask Tech Support at EQ. They are FABULOUS at answering all questions quickly.

    Personally, I think you'd be better off trying to buy a copy of a new version of EQ on ebay (I see there are a couple of EQ5's currently listed). There are have been SO many improvements over the years.

    Also, it will be much easier to get help from others. I've had EQ since version 3, but I can't remember exactly what the changes for each version. Wasn't that, like, over 12 years ago?

    And if you had a problem navigating EQ2, then you'll still have the initial WTH? with any other more recent version you buy. But the tutorials/books are really helpful. And, with a little bit of use, it becomes very easy to find your way around the program.

  9. #9
    Super Member leaha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    far western KY
    Posts
    2,058
    Blog Entries
    24
    I started out with EQ2 and then I had a computer built for it. I have up graded to 3,4,5,6, and will get 7 up grade some time this next year. I plan most all of my quilts on EQ I love it, and when I am tried of sewing I can sit back in my easy chair and play with EQ.

  10. #10
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albany, Oregon
    Posts
    10,701
    I know that with EQ6 you get a much more user-friendly interface. I upgraded to EQ7 and use it with (almost) every quilt.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.