Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: EQ5...Text?

  1. #1
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,760
    Blog Entries
    9
    I am working on a baby quilt and would like to applique words into some of the blocks. I can't find anyway to do that except to go to Paint and type something, then save as Bmp...then import. Surely there is a way to do this other than that...do you know?

  2. #2
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6,861
    Blog Entries
    3
    use any word processing program. pick the font you want. increase the font until the letters are the size you want. print, and cut them out to use as templates.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    424
    sandpat...are you trying to figure out how to use eq5 to make applique letters?
    In eq6 you can applique text for templates to get the patterns for each letter.

  4. #4
    Izy
    Izy is offline
    Super Member Izy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Halifax, W. Yorks, U.K.
    Posts
    5,954
    Sandpat...I just open a doc, type what word I want, hightlight it, then scroll thru all the fonts until I find one that I like, enlarge it to the size, and trace it off the screen...saves all that ink as most fonts are solid :D

  5. #5
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,760
    Blog Entries
    9
    Thanks loads . I know I can do that..I was wanting to put it on the quilt so that I could email a complete design to a friend who wants me to make one for her (prior to 2-10) I suppose.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    424
    If you have a "set applique text" button on your eq5 program you should be able to add text to your quilt. If it doesn't show up on your tool bar on the right hand side of your screen you may have to add it to your default settings.

  7. #7
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,760
    Blog Entries
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by auntluc
    If you have a "set applique text" button on your eq5 program you should be able to add text to your quilt. If it doesn't show up on your tool bar on the right hand side of your screen you may have to add it to your default settings.
    Ok..it isn't showing on my current tool bar, but I'll start the hunt for it. I just know that somewhere you have to be able to add appliqe text on a quilt with this program!! :?

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    424
    sandpat...look on your tool bar on the right hand side of your screen.
    The set applique text button may not be one of your default buttons but you can add it if you click the add/remove button at the bottom of the tool bar. Look for a square button with a capital T on it...that's your text button. You also need to be on layer 2 on your quilt design to add applique text.

  9. #9
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,760
    Blog Entries
    9
    Now I see the problem aunt luc....you have EQ6...I am working on EQ5. I have gone back several times to try to find the add/remove button so I could put the Text button on the bar and its just not where I can find it. I may call on Monday to see if I'm an idiot or what.

    For now...I used the pieced alphabet and just colored the entire block as the background leaving the letter in another fabric...it works pretty good.

    Thanks for trying to help me!!

    Patti

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.