Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
FMQ on Flannel - any pointers? >

FMQ on Flannel - any pointers?

FMQ on Flannel - any pointers?

Old 01-11-2012, 08:03 PM

Default FMQ on Flannel - any pointers?

I offered to quilt a lap quilt for a church group. I am a novice FMQer and have some questions. Is flannel any harder to do than regular cotton? Is there anything I need to do differently to prepare the sandwich? Any difference in the weight of batting? This is going to a public auction, so I want it to be acceptable+.
Old 01-11-2012, 08:15 PM

My personal opinion of flannel is I do not like doing any type of quilting on it so I try to not use it but there comes times when you have to and then you must make the best of it. I find flannel stretches lots so I use 505 Spray Basting to hold the backing to my Hobbs 80/20 batting and then I spray the front to the batting. I add some pin basting to keep everything in place and believe me nothing moves. When you are done quilting, you can wash your quilt or hang it on the line to air freshen. The spray bast evaporates when exposed to air.

There will certainly be other solutions given by many experts on this forum. I just know this is one solution that works.
Old 01-11-2012, 08:17 PM
RST

I do find flannel backings more challenging to FMQ than cotton. I find it helpful to use the teflon "Supreme slider" mat on the bed of the machine to help move the quilt smoothly. I also found myself needing to take more breaks as the quilt can be heavier. If you like gloves, they may help too. Flannel can sometimes be more linty, so clean your machine more often.

It's a good idea to do some practice runs on a sample sandwich of the actual materials you're going to use to make sure that the thread and tensions play nicely together.
Old 01-11-2012, 09:36 PM