Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
A friend of the family might want me to quilt something-advice? >

A friend of the family might want me to quilt something-advice?

A friend of the family might want me to quilt something-advice?

Old 09-05-2015, 06:33 PM

Default A friend of the family might want me to quilt something-advice?

This lady has been very good to me and my family over the years.

Her mom has Alzheimer's and is in an assisted living place. She's a real sweet lady.

Anyway, they were going through her stuff and found a bunch of quilt tops and I offered to do one or two so they can give her one.

I've never done anything like this before and I'm a bit nervous about it.

I'm thinking maybe I should test the fabric(they're old)somehow.

Do I dare wash it?

Anybody ever done this?

Any advice?

Thank you.
Old 09-05-2015, 06:55 PM

I don't think you want to wash a top. Think of the fraying!!

I would suggest talking over potential issues with the woman whose mother made the quilt tops, just so everyone is on the same page.
Old 09-05-2015, 07:01 PM

I wouldn't wash it either. I would have the lady know exactly what needed done and have her involved in stuff...like selecting the backing, deciding how to quilt it, etc. That way no one is disappointed. Have her involved...

Dina
Old 09-05-2015, 07:04 PM

I certainly would not wash the top before quilting/binding it. I would first ask to see the tops to see what kind of shape they were in. If you think you can work with them, sit down with your friend and describe how you would complete it (quilting, backing and binding). If she is happy with your plan, I say go ahead since she has been good to you and yours over the years. If you do it, and if you feel the top may be fragile, just soak it in the sink with Woolite and air dry after you are done so it will be clean and fresh for the Mom.
Old 09-05-2015, 07:23 PM