Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help - Polka dots directional fabric?? >

Help - Polka dots directional fabric??

Help - Polka dots directional fabric??

Old 06-29-2014, 06:11 AM

Default Help - Polka dots directional fabric??

Hi ladies (and gents). I'm making a quilt for my daughter that is using a lot of polka dot prints, but when I look at them, they read really directional. I've attached a picture, so you can tell me if I'm seeing things or if they look directional to you too. I've been quilting for a few years, but have stayed away from directional prints so far because of how fiddly they are to keep straight. Any tips for how to do this? Especially for the borders and binding?!!!
Attached Thumbnails img_2065.jpg  
Old 06-29-2014, 06:16 AM
Power Poster

​Polka dots are printed in lines but I have never considered them directional. With that being said, I wouldn't worry about the small ones but depending on the pattern the big ones might give you some interesting shapes when cut and reassembled.
Old 06-29-2014, 06:20 AM
Power Poster

I am finding that some dots do have directions since I have been using them in a hexagon quilt. As Tartan said, I wouldn't be concern with the small dots but you might want to watch the larger one. You might want to make a test block to see if the dots will cause any problems.

Last edited by ManiacQuilter2; 06-29-2014 at 06:22 AM.
Old 06-29-2014, 06:45 AM

Thanks for the responses! The big dot is for the border, possibly some blocks, and the small will be for thin border and binding. Here is the pattern if it helps.

http://www.bunnyhilldesigns.com/stor...ls/?product=bc

I think I might try cutting the length of fabric, rather than the WOF, following the dots. I considered ripping, or washing and ironing, but that's all assuming the print is on the fabric straight. I think I'll just give it a good iron and starching and then go connecting the dots! Wish me luck!
Old 06-29-2014, 11:16 AM