Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How many people does it take to load a quilting machine? >

How many people does it take to load a quilting machine?

How many people does it take to load a quilting machine?

Old 03-11-2010, 09:14 AM

Seriously!! I loaded a new quilt on my machine last night and it took me almost 2 hours!!! I know I'm new at this, but is this normal? I always have my husband help roll the fabric while I try to keep it straight and tight. Am I doing something wrong?
Old 03-11-2010, 09:54 AM

me too Sista! I'm thinking of getting zippers for my leaders because by the time I get one all pinned on and ready to go my back hurts and I'm too tired to start quilting. Maybe neither of us know what we're doing. :oops:
Old 03-11-2010, 10:01 AM

I prefer having two people to load it. I've done it by myself, but spend a lot of the time growling. You do get a bit faster with practice.
Old 03-11-2010, 10:04 AM

It takes me 1-2 hours to load one on my frame, too. That's backing, batting and top. I only pin the backing, though. Once I have the backing pinned, I roll the batting, then I sew a line across the end of the batting to attach it to the backing. I do the same for the quilt top. I do not sew through the leaders, only the backing about 1/2" off the leaders.
Old 03-11-2010, 10:17 AM

Great idea. I'll have to try that.
Old 03-11-2010, 10:18 AM
Power Poster

This is the main reason I don't have a longarm set up. I have helped load quilts on many different kinds of frames and it is too big a hassle. I know I'd have a pile of quilts sitting there waiting to be put on the frame and me not wanting to do it.
Old 03-11-2010, 10:27 AM
Power Poster