Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
how much does flannel shrink >

how much does flannel shrink

how much does flannel shrink

Old 03-07-2015, 10:43 AM

Default how much does flannel shrink

I want to make a rag quilt. I have never used flannel before. How much does flannel shrink.if I want 7 yards total how much should I buy. Any tips on making the quilt greatly appreciated
Old 03-07-2015, 11:05 AM

The problem is, different grades of flannel will shrink differently. Some of the better ones i've bought a yard of barely shrunk at all. Quilter's Corner web site suggests buying up to 1/4 yard more than the pattern calls for....then wash and dry on hot settings of course to get the most shrink over with. Try Googling "flannel fabric shrinkage" - and you should find several sites offering suggestions.
Good luck with your quilt.
Old 03-07-2015, 11:47 AM
Power Poster

I didn't worry about shrinkage. I just cut out my squares, stitch it together and the clipps the edges. It came out fine.
Attached Thumbnails rag-quilt.jpg  
Old 03-07-2015, 11:56 AM

good ones hardly will. It really depends on the quality of it. Connecting threads has good quality flannel that doesn't shrink much
Old 03-07-2015, 12:57 PM

I got some from who knows where and made my grandson a pj bottom. washed it and it had shrunk 7''. I learned that if you buy the cheap flannel it will shrink a lot. the more expensive stuff doesn't seem to. One trick I learned at a quilt class is to hold it up to the light and if you can see that it is loosely woven it will shrink more. I find that the tighter the weave the better the flannel. I make a ton of rag quilts and have learned over the years to test it out.
Old 03-07-2015, 01:20 PM
Power Poster