Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
HQ Sweet Sixteen or Baby Lock >

HQ Sweet Sixteen or Baby Lock

HQ Sweet Sixteen or Baby Lock

Old 11-11-2013, 04:45 AM

Default HQ Sweet Sixteen or Baby Lock

I am very new to quilting, and I suppose I should get to work on "mastering" the quilting technique. LOL
I can do stitch-in-the-ditch, but haven't done any free motion yet.

I remain very intrigued with these quilter machines, like the Sweet Sixteen.
Our local shop isn't bringing that one in anymore and is trying to sell the Baby Lock.
They are A LOT of $, and I'm not there yet,
but I sure like thinking about it.

So, a friend of mine quilted a table runner that I made (wedding gift) on her long arm.
I had her put some designs in some of the large squares. It came out gorgeous.
As I was showing it to another friend I commented that I wish I could find a small quilter machine that would do the "designs," and she said the small sit down quilter machines will do it.
I didn't know that!
I'm even sure how to look into it.

If I could get a small sit down machine to do that, I might look more seriously into getting one.
Can you help?
I thought the smaller machines were just good for free motion, not to be programmable.
Would love to hear of your experience(s) with these machines.
Thanks!
Old 11-11-2013, 05:21 AM
Power Poster

there are a couple of variables here. If your quilter friend did the motifs using a computerized long arm, then no, a sit down machine can't do that. If she transferred a design to the block by drawing it on or pouncing it then quilted over the lines, then yes a sit down can do that. The friend who said the sit down could duplicate what the quilter did probably thought that the second method was used. The last alternative is an embroidery machine. There are lots of folks who use theirs to do entire quilts. I wasn't too successful at that, but do use it for small items.
Old 11-11-2013, 05:32 AM