Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: I always come up short...why?

  1. #11
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by nativetexan View Post
    you must cut them into squares. same size horizontal as vertical. then no problem will occur.

    How easy to forget that some do not know this step. It never crossed my mine that it may not be squared up and that was causing the problem.
    Got fabric?

  2. #12
    Super Member Jan in VA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.
    Posts
    5,956
    Sew your strips together and carefully press so that there all seams are completely pressed, no wrinkles/gathers/puckers.
    Measure the width of the sewn strip set several times down the length of the set.
    That measurement of the sewn strip set will determine the size of your subcuts. They are often a hair more or less than you thought they would be.

    Jan in VA
    Jan in VA
    Living in the foothills
    peacefully colors my world.

  3. #13
    Super Member joym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    md.
    Posts
    1,473
    Blog Entries
    132
    Thank you everyone.

    Jan, why do the instructions say to pre cut the three pieces that will be sewn together the same size?

  4. #14
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mechanicsville, IA
    Posts
    1,282
    Because the longer the strip you sew together the more chance there is for distortion in sewing and/or pressing. I have some 30" strips to sew for a Jinny Beyer DA VINCI quilt and know they will need extra care. Thanks for asking your question. The answers reminded me of some thing I need to be aware of for upcoming quilt.
    Cheryl Robinson
    http://www.silverneedlestitching.com
    APQS Millenium Longarm with Intelliquilter

  5. #15
    Senior Member cattailsquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Apache Junction, AZ
    Posts
    598
    I know you already have your answer, but I wanted to let you know you're not the only one!

    I have a set of UFO rail fence quilts that I started 10 years ago. I just picked up the completed strip sets for one of them, and I'm SO glad I measured before I started cross-cutting for my blocks! It seams (haha) that my scant 1/4" wasn't so scant 10 years ago, and my strip sets (full width of fabric) were pretty uneven. I just cut my blocks to be 6-3/8" (the width of my strip sets) instead of 6-1/2" (that they were supposed to be), and when I put the top together, everything was perfect.

    I'm hoping that the strips for the other quilt won't be so far off, since the sets aren't finished yet... Will see!

  6. #16
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6,110
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by joym View Post
    Thank you everyone.

    Jan, why do the instructions say to pre cut the three pieces that will be sewn together the same size?
    Because they are assuming you have cut the fabric correctly, and your seams are precise. You said your seams were OK, but did you double check using the instructions in this tutorial?

    Achieving an Accurate 1/4" Seam Allowance
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  7. #17
    Super Member Jan in VA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.
    Posts
    5,956
    Jan clarifies her previous post:
    I wasn't clear that when you measure the sewn strip set in several places, you average those measurements and determine from the average what size to cut ALL your subcuts. There will be some blocks that you will have to 'ease' a bit to fit their adjoining block, but "on average" more of your subcuts blocks will fit together than than if you don't do it this way.

    Jan in VA
    Jan in VA
    Living in the foothills
    peacefully colors my world.

  8. #18
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,664
    When you cut the blocks do you measure the width of your strip set, your cuts should equal that size. even if your seam length is off it should be somewhat consistent to each other and if you measure the width you can go off of that. My rail fence was much more accurate this way. Also your cutting of the strips needs to be consistent, if they are all different widths because of inaccurate cutting
    Brother XL-3500i, SQ-9050, Dreamweaver XE6200D

  9. #19
    Junior Member Janie67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    154
    I had the same problem. I thought I was crazy! Lied is short don't make any more rail fence quilts. Lol

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    183
    I absolutely love the Quilting Board. It is the best quilting resource of all times. I have learned so much here and continue to learn something new every day. To me it's better than going to a class. It is a class! My sincere thanks to everyone for your expertise and knowledge that you so willingly share. I love the article on achieving an accurate quarter inch seam and can't wait to try it. You ladies are the best teachers of all!
    Last edited by luciab; 01-18-2013 at 06:31 AM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.