Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
I need the best book around. >

I need the best book around.

I need the best book around.

Old 01-23-2014, 03:43 PM

Default I need the best book around.

I am a beginner quilter who needs a good "quilters bible" or book that has everything I need to know in it. I have several books that have odds and ends of information in them but I have to go from book to book to find what I need to know. Amazon.com has a book titled Quilts,Quilts,Quilts that is supposed to be good according to Keepsake Quilting. Let me know what you think is the best book to buy so I won't be book poor.
Old 01-23-2014, 03:46 PM

I love the Better Homes and Gardens Complete Guide to Quilting. I refer to it often and have since I started quilting. Quilts, Quilts, Quilts is also a favorite.
Old 01-23-2014, 03:49 PM

Location: A Hop from Heaven, a Skip from Sanity and a Jump from the Good Life....

Ive always gone to the internet.. My books collect dust and just site there looking pretty.. Hope someone comes by and helps you out..
Old 01-23-2014, 03:52 PM
Power Poster

I don't think there is a single book that has everything, but The Art of Classic Quiltmaking by Harriet Hargrave and Sharyn Craig comes close. Quilting techniques are continuously evolving though, as shown by the recent use of Elmer's glue for just about everything. http://www.amazon.com/Art-Classic-Qu...ic+quiltmaking
Old 01-23-2014, 03:58 PM

How about checking out books at your local library?

Nan - IN
Old 01-23-2014, 04:09 PM

I second Quilts, Quilts, Quilts. My teacher used it for our beginners class & I still reference it frequently, plus I love that almost all the patterns give fabric requirements & cutting charts for your choice of crib, full, queen & king sizes.
Old 01-23-2014, 04:11 PM