Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: I need help

  1. #1
    Super Member nabobw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Pinellas Park Fl
    Posts
    4,553
    Blog Entries
    6
    How do you start and stop when you FMQ, without having a rats nest on the back side? I have tried tieing off but when I cut the threads the knot comes undone.

  2. #2
    Senior Member quilter1943's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Edgewater, FL
    Posts
    925
    When you begin, take one stitch and pull up your bobin thread. Hold it while you begin to stitch. When I finish I either take a back stitch or I leave a thread long enough to pull through and finish it with a stitch and hide the thread in the batting. If your machine is leaving that much thread on the back your tension might be off. Sandwich some fabric and batting and practice a bit before you start on the quilt. I do this every time when I begin and after I've changed bobin just to be sure I don't have a problem on the quilt. I always use the same thread in the bobbin (or at least the same brand/weight) as I use on top. Hope this will help. I know it's terribly frustrating.

  3. #3
    Super Member Stitchnripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    6,432
    Quote Originally Posted by quilter1943
    When you begin, take one stitch and pull up your bobin thread. Hold it while you begin to stitch. When I finish I either take a back stitch or I leave a thread long enough to pull through and finish it with a stitch and hide the thread in the batting. If your machine is leaving that much thread on the back your tension might be off. Sandwich some fabric and batting and practice a bit before you start on the quilt. I do this every time when I begin and after I've changed bobin just to be sure I don't have a problem on the quilt. I always use the same thread in the bobbin (or at least the same brand/weight) as I use on top. Hope this will help. I know it's terribly frustrating.
    I agree with this. These suggestions have helped me avoid that problem. And I FMQ on a dinky mechanical Brother with coats and clark thread.

  4. #4
    Super Member suezquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Cashton WI
    Posts
    1,149
    Nana Jan said exactly the correct things.

    If I'm unable to hold the thread I take a pin and stick it in the quilt, wrapping the threads securely around it. It holds when I can't. Take a couple securing stitches before you take off.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sturbridge, Ma
    Posts
    4,017
    sounds like you are not pullling the bobbin thread up and holding it. I have started leaving about 6" and burying the ends in the quilt. Takes a little time but works.
    If I am free motioning I will hold the fabric and let the needle stay in place for a stitch or two. If you are straight stitching with the walking foot, then set the length very small for the first three or four stitches and then dial back to the size you want.
    If free motioning, pull your bobbin thread up and hold and just rock the needle back and forth to make really small stitches.

  6. #6
    Super Member justwannaquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Union, Missouri
    Posts
    1,576
    I start quilting off the top in the batting and them move onto the top. I do the same thing to stop quilting. I quilt right off the top into the batting. IF I have to stop in the middle of the quilt to change a bobbin. Then I take A stitch and then do as the others have said to pull the bobbin thread to the top. Once I am done with the quilting I will then tie a knot in the threads and thread them through a needle and then hide them inside the quilt. kinda between the top/in the batting. They don't come out and you can not tell where you stopped and started!

  7. #7
    Super Member sahm4605's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    2,196
    What I do is turn the wheel and needle by hand and slowly and that actually helps get rid of the nests.

  8. #8
    Super Member ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    9,553
    you need to bring your bobbin thread to the top and hold both threads when you start sewing. then you go back and thread those (2) threads onto a needle and (weave) them into the center of the quilt

  9. #9
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    1,ooo miles from home
    Posts
    13,348
    Blog Entries
    2
    also make sure the presser foot is in the down position before you start sewing. that also would make rats nests if it was left up.

  10. #10
    Super Member nabobw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Pinellas Park Fl
    Posts
    4,553
    Blog Entries
    6
    Thanks for all the help. I sure will try it and hopefully not have to pull the quilting out again.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.