Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
I need help >

I need help

I need help

Old 03-01-2011, 05:40 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
nabobw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pinellas Park Fl
Posts: 5,022
Default

How do you start and stop when you FMQ, without having a rats nest on the back side? I have tried tieing off but when I cut the threads the knot comes undone.
nabobw is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 05:48 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
quilter1943's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edgewater, FL
Posts: 924
Default

When you begin, take one stitch and pull up your bobin thread. Hold it while you begin to stitch. When I finish I either take a back stitch or I leave a thread long enough to pull through and finish it with a stitch and hide the thread in the batting. If your machine is leaving that much thread on the back your tension might be off. Sandwich some fabric and batting and practice a bit before you start on the quilt. I do this every time when I begin and after I've changed bobin just to be sure I don't have a problem on the quilt. I always use the same thread in the bobbin (or at least the same brand/weight) as I use on top. Hope this will help. I know it's terribly frustrating.
quilter1943 is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 05:52 AM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
Stitchnripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mableton, GA
Posts: 10,015
Default

Originally Posted by quilter1943
When you begin, take one stitch and pull up your bobin thread. Hold it while you begin to stitch. When I finish I either take a back stitch or I leave a thread long enough to pull through and finish it with a stitch and hide the thread in the batting. If your machine is leaving that much thread on the back your tension might be off. Sandwich some fabric and batting and practice a bit before you start on the quilt. I do this every time when I begin and after I've changed bobin just to be sure I don't have a problem on the quilt. I always use the same thread in the bobbin (or at least the same brand/weight) as I use on top. Hope this will help. I know it's terribly frustrating.
I agree with this. These suggestions have helped me avoid that problem. And I FMQ on a dinky mechanical Brother with coats and clark thread.
Stitchnripper is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 05:54 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
suezquilts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cashton WI
Posts: 1,125
Default

Nana Jan said exactly the correct things.

If I'm unable to hold the thread I take a pin and stick it in the quilt, wrapping the threads securely around it. It holds when I can't. Take a couple securing stitches before you take off.
suezquilts is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 05:57 AM
  #5  
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sturbridge, Ma
Posts: 3,993
Default

sounds like you are not pullling the bobbin thread up and holding it. I have started leaving about 6" and burying the ends in the quilt. Takes a little time but works.
If I am free motioning I will hold the fabric and let the needle stay in place for a stitch or two. If you are straight stitching with the walking foot, then set the length very small for the first three or four stitches and then dial back to the size you want.
If free motioning, pull your bobbin thread up and hold and just rock the needle back and forth to make really small stitches.
Holice is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 06:35 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
justwannaquilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Union, Missouri
Posts: 1,542
Default

I start quilting off the top in the batting and them move onto the top. I do the same thing to stop quilting. I quilt right off the top into the batting. IF I have to stop in the middle of the quilt to change a bobbin. Then I take A stitch and then do as the others have said to pull the bobbin thread to the top. Once I am done with the quilting I will then tie a knot in the threads and thread them through a needle and then hide them inside the quilt. kinda between the top/in the batting. They don't come out and you can not tell where you stopped and started!
justwannaquilt is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 06:43 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
sahm4605's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Posts: 2,167
Default

What I do is turn the wheel and needle by hand and slowly and that actually helps get rid of the nests.
sahm4605 is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 06:53 AM
  #8  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 12,270
Default

you need to bring your bobbin thread to the top and hold both threads when you start sewing. then you go back and thread those (2) threads onto a needle and (weave) them into the center of the quilt
ckcowl is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 07:10 AM
  #9  
Power Poster
 
nativetexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: home again, after 27 yrs!
Posts: 19,311
Default

also make sure the presser foot is in the down position before you start sewing. that also would make rats nests if it was left up.
nativetexan is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 07:28 AM
  #10  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
nabobw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pinellas Park Fl
Posts: 5,022
Default

Thanks for all the help. I sure will try it and hopefully not have to pull the quilting out again.
nabobw is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
blzzrdqueen
Main
39
01-19-2015 12:51 PM
Buzzy Bee
Main
7
07-04-2012 12:57 PM
mmonohon
Main
14
10-30-2010 07:35 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.