Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: I need help with why my machine is skipping stitches.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    San Angelo, Texas
    Posts
    6

    I need help with why my machine is skipping stitches.

    I have a new Janome Artistic 18 and it was working great once I got King Tut Thread but now it skips stitches when it goes backward. I even unplugged the the encoders and it still skips! Any ideas?

    I have rethreaded the machine.
    Put in a new Needle
    Reloaded the bobbin

    And it still skips when I do any sort of backward motion.

    I'm calling the dealer tomorrow but in the meantime ... any ideas???

    Bonnie

  2. #2
    Super Member Arleners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Stony Brook, NY
    Posts
    1,214
    Is it when you sew in reverse, or is it when you are doing free motion quilting?
    Arlene

  3. #3
    Super Member AshleyR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,099
    Blog Entries
    30
    I had a similar problem with my Janome. I can't free motion on it, but it works just fine with a walking foot.

    Make sure you're using the right size bobbin and that it's inserted correctly. I was using "whatever bobbin" and then threw out all my bobbins and bought new ones. That helped a LOT! But I'm sure others aren't as dumb as I was!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    464
    Have you cleaned it? Depends on size of needles and what you are sewing.
    A friend was sewing duck cloth and her machine was doing that.
    I told her to put in a 16 needle and worked great
    LC

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    I'm assuming your machine is a longarm, mine skipped stitches when my foot was too high. It only skipped when stitching backwards, I didn't realize that would happen until my fix it guy clued me in

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    92
    some Janome machines don't like some brands of thread. Perhaps try another brand to see if this is the problem.

  7. #7
    Super Member chairjogger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    My favorite place in the world is Lake Erie Region USA
    Posts
    2,750
    Blog Entries
    2
    Sounds goofy for advise..but have you tried utube? Could be bobbin tension.
    Sometimes you just have to sit in a chair and jog in order to get anywhere.
    Ell

  8. #8
    Super Member brushandthimble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    North of Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    3,630
    Do you have a stitch regulator? Press all the connections together, making sure they are tight, even if they look connected. I press mine in on a regulare basis, in case they vibrate loose.
    I have also had to press (one time bend) where the encoder wheel meets the track. I was having the same problem it looks like you are having. Good luck.
    After 2 years with the same signature I have been requested to remove it. Bye

  9. #9
    Junior Member fallonquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Fallon, Nevada
    Posts
    103
    Blog Entries
    3
    Change needles often- You may have a defective one!!
    Also try taking out all thread and rethreading it

  10. #10
    Super Member Latrinka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New Iberia, Louisiana
    Posts
    6,231
    No advice, but good luck fixing it!
    If a woman's work is never done....why start?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.