Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: I need help with why my machine is skipping stitches.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    San Angelo, Texas
    Posts
    6

    I need help with why my machine is skipping stitches.

    I have a new Janome Artistic 18 and it was working great once I got King Tut Thread but now it skips stitches when it goes backward. I even unplugged the the encoders and it still skips! Any ideas?

    I have rethreaded the machine.
    Put in a new Needle
    Reloaded the bobbin

    And it still skips when I do any sort of backward motion.

    I'm calling the dealer tomorrow but in the meantime ... any ideas???

    Bonnie

  2. #2
    Super Member Arleners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Stony Brook, NY
    Posts
    1,213
    Is it when you sew in reverse, or is it when you are doing free motion quilting?
    Arlene

  3. #3
    Super Member AshleyR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,099
    Blog Entries
    30
    I had a similar problem with my Janome. I can't free motion on it, but it works just fine with a walking foot.

    Make sure you're using the right size bobbin and that it's inserted correctly. I was using "whatever bobbin" and then threw out all my bobbins and bought new ones. That helped a LOT! But I'm sure others aren't as dumb as I was!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    472
    Have you cleaned it? Depends on size of needles and what you are sewing.
    A friend was sewing duck cloth and her machine was doing that.
    I told her to put in a 16 needle and worked great
    LC

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    I'm assuming your machine is a longarm, mine skipped stitches when my foot was too high. It only skipped when stitching backwards, I didn't realize that would happen until my fix it guy clued me in

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    92
    some Janome machines don't like some brands of thread. Perhaps try another brand to see if this is the problem.

  7. #7
    Super Member chairjogger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    My favorite place in the world is Lake Erie Region USA
    Posts
    2,753
    Blog Entries
    2
    Sounds goofy for advise..but have you tried utube? Could be bobbin tension.
    Sometimes you just have to sit in a chair and jog in order to get anywhere.
    Ell

  8. #8
    Super Member brushandthimble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    North of Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    3,630
    Do you have a stitch regulator? Press all the connections together, making sure they are tight, even if they look connected. I press mine in on a regulare basis, in case they vibrate loose.
    I have also had to press (one time bend) where the encoder wheel meets the track. I was having the same problem it looks like you are having. Good luck.
    After 2 years with the same signature I have been requested to remove it. Bye

  9. #9
    Junior Member fallonquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Fallon, Nevada
    Posts
    154
    Blog Entries
    5
    Change needles often- You may have a defective one!!
    Also try taking out all thread and rethreading it

  10. #10
    Super Member Latrinka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    7,165
    No advice, but good luck fixing it!
    If a woman's work is never done....why start?

  11. #11
    Super Member ccthomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kentucky live in WV
    Posts
    6,760
    Yes, I found the height of the bobbin is critical to the particular model of the machine; it doesn't work just to read that the bobbin may be used for a particular brand sewing machine. If you compare the bobbins, it is easy to see the height of the bobbin is different. I "paid for repair" to learn this valuable lesson. I thought I was also the only one that did not know this.

    Quote Originally Posted by AshleyR View Post
    I had a similar problem with my Janome. I can't free motion on it, but it works just fine with a walking foot.

    Make sure you're using the right size bobbin and that it's inserted correctly. I was using "whatever bobbin" and then threw out all my bobbins and bought new ones. That helped a LOT! But I'm sure others aren't as dumb as I was!
    Last edited by ccthomas; 07-02-2012 at 05:39 AM.
    Carol

  12. #12
    Senior Member cpfrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    453
    ALSO...make sure the bobbin thread is going in the correct direction, that is, pulling through the "bobbin tension" from the correct way as directed in your instruction booklet.

    All the other responses are to be noted, as well... needle, brand of thread, tensions, etc.
    Good Luck.

  13. #13
    Power Poster RedGarnet222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Reno, Nv
    Posts
    14,514
    Sometimes there is dust bunnies under the foot plate and it causes this to happen. Or you might try cleaning the tension disks too.
    RedGarnet222

    "Take your needle, my child, and work at your pattern ... It will come out a rose by and by. Life is like that ...one stitch at a time, taken patiently."
    *Oliver Wendell Holms

  14. #14
    Senior Member donna13350's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    791
    I have found that when I FMQ, if I angle the quilt just a little so that the machine is not sewing straight backwards, but backwards at a slight angle, the stitches look a lot better, and never skip.
    Another thing that will make my machine skip is when the spray adhesive gets into a little ball toward the top of the needle..rub that off if it builds up.
    Slow down! you may be going too fast...
    As the others have said..rethread, new bobbin, new needle...try different thread...sooner or later you'll hit the right combo! Good luck!

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    17
    I would say its the needle or bobbin is cracked or scratched in some way, might not be threading right. It just might not like that thread. I have a machine that will not sew with certain thread. So I don't use that thread any more.

  16. #16
    Senior Member Ccorazone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Midlothian,Texas
    Posts
    720
    You spoke of an encoder. That suggest to me you have a longarm and possibly using it with the computerized portion. My(which is a different brand) but with encoders was skipping because the nut that holds the encoder was loose and it wasn't making good contact with the rail.it skipped stitches mainly when it was making a curve.

    "Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned"
    Peter Marshall

    "Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that
    take our breath away". - Hilary Cooper
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/2HartsCreations?ref=si_shop

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    449
    Blog Entries
    2
    My machine did the same thing, here is what I did: I changed back to Signature thread and the problem went away. After I got some exta time I started again with the King TUT and eventually fiddled with the tensions until it did lots better, sooooo, I gave all of my Tut to a friend who's machine handled it better and decided never, never again to believe the hipe about King Tutagain.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    San Angelo, Texas
    Posts
    6
    When I sew - move the machine backwards. It is a longarm machine. I called the Sewing center where I purchased the machine and they gave me a few helps, but after Hubby and I worked on it - adjusted the timing, adjusted the needle height, cleaned it, oiled it, put in a new needle ... it still skips when it is in the "Cruise" mode. It works great in "Speed" mode but there are times I might want to use cruise and not speed. They also said to totally unplug everything, plug it all back and and see if that works. That will be done this weekend and I will load up another practice quilt to see what is going on. Might even have hubby make a video so I can send it to them before packing up the machine and sending it back for service. It isn't even a month old!
    I was able to finish the quilt I had loaded on the frame - just learing how to do pantos and did Chantilly lace. in the body of the quilt and meandering around the boarder. Now to bind it!
    Last edited by KylersNanaB; 07-05-2012 at 08:55 AM.

  19. #19
    Super Member purplefiend's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Round Rock,Texas
    Posts
    6,152
    Are you using a top stitch needle? The larger eye helps lots. http://www.superiorthreads.com/ there's lots of good info about threads and needles there.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    San Angelo, Texas
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by purplefiend View Post
    Are you using a top stitch needle? The larger eye helps lots. http://www.superiorthreads.com/ there's lots of good info about threads and needles there.
    This machine takes a longarn needle and I don't think there is a topstitch needle for the Janome Artistic 18. I could be wrong becasue I am very new to all of this longarm stuff.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.