Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: June Tailor Basting Spray- Reviews from QB users, please

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    536

    June Tailor Basting Spray- Reviews from QB users, please

    I bought this brand a month or so ago, but didn't know how to use it, but now after reading several posts here on 505 brand, I'm wondering if I should go exchange this. I haven't opened it. Of only a few reviews on Joann's website most were thumbs down mainly regarding the smell. I know those types of reviews are absolutely opinion, and not fact-based because smell is such a personal thing. Whether or not the product works is another facet altogether.

    Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Super Member sewingsuz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,944
    I bought the June Taylor and it says (improved formula) and it works real good. Do not spray to much and keep about 6 inches high when you spray. Good Luck
    Suzanne
    Asking a seamstress to mend is like asking Picasso to paint your garage.

  3. #3
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13,286
    I have used it in the past ... so if there's a formula change, this may not apply.
    I did not like the smell. Nor the way it sprayed .... seemed to come out in a heavy spray, rather than a finer mist like the 505. On the upside, it was yellow ... so I knew where it was, whereas with the 505 I do not.

    Texture wise, the June Tailor seemed to make a stiffer sandwich, whereas the 505 more pliable.

    I far prefer the 505 and only purchase it now.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  4. #4
    Super Member QuiltnLady1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,794
    I haven't used the June Tailor recently, but I did not like the smell. I also did not like the feel of the sandwich when it was done. I also had some staining that did not come out. I use 505, though I am going to try to make the Elmers glue spray -- it sounds interesting.
    QuiltnLady1

    When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

  5. #5
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,045
    Blog Entries
    1
    I used June Tailor spray a long time ago. The smell was very bad. Much prefer 505.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Skyangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Salem, Oregon
    Posts
    573
    I have used the June Taylor spray. It works OK but I did not like the smell. I have also used the 505 and like it a lot better. It is the one I regularly use for machine embroidery. But I took a "quilting with your embroidery machine" class and the teacher introduced Sulky KK2000 and it is my new favorite. It is non-toxic and doesn't smell bad, and it goes a long way even though is is a small can. NAYY

  7. #7
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    I used some a few week ago. I didn't have a problem. Be sure to have plenty of space covered for the over spray if using inside. It's a chore to clean that up. I spray baste on two pieces of plywood set on top of saw horses. DH has the lightweight stands and he put handles on the plywood so I can move it easy if he isn't here. I clamp the backing to the wood and lay the batting on top, spray the batting then turn it over and smooth. Spray the batting and smooth the top on the batting.
    Got fabric?

  8. #8
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    6,031
    Blog Entries
    31
    I use the JT brand all the time and have never had any problems with it. I still have a few spray basted wall hangings from a few years ago on my design wall and they are still holding perfectly while waiting for me to get off my sticky.....
    and quilt them!

    Very little spray is needed to make the sandwich stick together. I always try a light spray first and then spray a little more if it needs it.
    peace

    @ Bellaboo: Very cool idea. What a nice DH.
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  9. #9
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,512
    I have used june tailor, 101, 505 and all work the same, june tailor has more of a smell but works the same. There is no need to go purchase something else. I would recommend use it, try something else next time, there are several on the market and it is all a personal preference. I just used 505 for the first time the other day, have used june tailor and the 101 for years, and have a can of sullivans unopened as well. I bought the 505 mainly for embroidery. I use the other sprays outside just place newspaper on the ground and you don't have to worry about the smell. They all have an odor to me, even the 505, but I am sensitive to smells
    Brother XL-3500i, SQ-9050, Dreamweaver XE6200D

  10. #10
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13,286
    DolphynGyrl ... 101 is a new product to me ... please tell us more!
    Thank you!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.