Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Longarm motor???

  1. #1
    Senior Member Ccorazone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Midlothian,Texas
    Posts
    718

    Longarm motor???

    My longarm won't turn on. I left on for about an hour while I ran an errand, when I got home and started quilting the machine was off. So I tried to turn it on. Come to find out the "on" switch was already on.. The motor was hot to the touch so I thought I would let it cool off and everything would be fine. Still won't turn on. Any ideas why????

    "Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned"
    Peter Marshall

    "Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that
    take our breath away". - Hilary Cooper
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/2HartsCreations?ref=si_shop

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Rockford, Illnois
    Posts
    403
    When you say hot, do you mean warm or burning hot. Did you smell anything when you came in to the house. Is it an older machine. I burned up a motor recently and I have to tell you it was older, it was burning hot and it gave off an odor that wouldn't be missed. Just a thought...

  3. #3
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6,068
    Blog Entries
    2
    Don't know, but the fact that the motor was hot to the touch does not sound good.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    89
    Might want to check to see if you blew a fuse on the machine. I know where they are on apqs machines, but not on others.

  5. #5
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,368
    I have never had mine get hot. They do have a fuse but seems like it would lose power and not be hot. What type of machine do you have?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Ccorazone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Midlothian,Texas
    Posts
    718
    hot.. I could leave my hand on it so it was not HOT HOT .. No smell. Have not checked for a fuse. But suspect it should have one somewhere.

    "Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned"
    Peter Marshall

    "Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that
    take our breath away". - Hilary Cooper
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/2HartsCreations?ref=si_shop

  7. #7
    Senior Member Ccorazone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Midlothian,Texas
    Posts
    718
    Husvargna/Viking Mega Quilter which is computerized. I took the "lid" off where the power goes in and all I see is small computer circuit boards. Nothing looks damamged but don't guess by looking.

    "Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned"
    Peter Marshall

    "Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that
    take our breath away". - Hilary Cooper
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/2HartsCreations?ref=si_shop

  8. #8
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,368
    The 18 X 8? This is the machine I have, the fuse is located in the black piece where the on and off swith is. First pull the plug, there is a little drawer you can open with a screwdriver. It is right below the plug a drawer will open that is the fuse drawer, look inside there should also be an extra fuse.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Ccorazone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Midlothian,Texas
    Posts
    718
    Quote Originally Posted by mighty View Post
    The 18 X 8? This is the machine I have, the fuse is located in the black piece where the on and off swith is. First pull the plug, there is a little drawer you can open with a screwdriver. It is right below the plug a drawer will open that is the fuse drawer, look inside there should also be an extra fuse.
    THANKS I found the fuse.. Swithed them out...BLEW that fuse too!!!!!

    "Small deeds done are better than great deeds planned"
    Peter Marshall

    "Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that
    take our breath away". - Hilary Cooper
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/2HartsCreations?ref=si_shop

  10. #10
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    4,589
    Blog Entries
    1
    I asked DH, and his opinion is you need to have a professional repair it. He said there are 2 things that will cause it to blow multiple fuses; 1. a bound-up motor, 2. a shorted-out motor. Either one of those things could make it hot, also.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.