Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: looking for opinion on lights and cutter sharpener

  1. #1
    Senior Member coldquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    northern Minnesota
    Posts
    428

    looking for opinion on lights and cutter sharpener

    Hi everyone - there are a couple of things I am looking at possibly buying and wondering what the opinions might be. The one is a strip of led lights made by Ecoluxlighting and it's for use on the sewing machine. I do a lot of sewing at night and the small light bulb on the machine is ok but not great. The other item is a rotary cutter sharpening tool and it's by Trusharp and it's retail price is about $65 and just wondering if anyone has tried it and if it works ok or not. Thanks so much for the good advise; I love getting your opinions as you always have great things to say.
    Michelle

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Southern Indiana
    Posts
    4,537
    Do you attach the lights to your machine? Are they magnetic? Is your your machine computerized? I have heard that if your machine is computerized you should not have magnets around it.

  3. #3
    Power Poster erstan947's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,123
    Blog Entries
    47
    http://www.quiltingboard.com/search....archid=1600625 Here is a search link about sharpeners. Way more information than you really need I can't help with the lighting.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    38
    Hi coldquilter, I have the Truesharp rotary blade sharpener. I have been using it for about a month now. I really like using it. I sharpen the blade before it gets really dull that way it stays pretty sharp. I have had no problems with it. I don't know anything about the led lights though. By the way the $65 price for the sharpener is kind of high. I got mine from Nancy's Notions for $54. Google it and see if you can find it cheaper. Good luck.

  5. #5
    Super Member aorlflood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    currently living in WV
    Posts
    1,407
    I use this light:
    http://www.sewforless.com/item/Benda..._Machines/7436

    It is VERY bright and serves these old eyes well! I purchased the Dritz one at Joann's and it was junk.

    No affiliation, you can google it for the cheapest price.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    The Colony, TX
    Posts
    2,835
    I have read some pretty good things about the sharpener and just ordered one from Joanns, they had it on sale for about $39

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    953
    Have seen the lights online. Finally saw some on a machine at a shop I was visiting. It was very bright, I think she had the 6 lights. They came in 3, 6, 9 lights, size depending on what size harp you have. The only thing I noticed is that the lights only lighted up what was directly under the harp and bit of shadow on the left side of needle. I did not sit down at the machine, so I can not say whether that made a difference or not. But it did put out a lot of light! And the lady who owned the machine was very happy with them.

  8. #8
    Senior Member coldquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    northern Minnesota
    Posts
    428
    The lights are not magnetic but some type of sticky adhesive. Thanks for the info on the sharpener. We were thinking about purchasing for our quilt group and when we get together 2 times a month, everyone could use it. I will look around more though before purchasing. Thanks.
    Michelle

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.