Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Machine Applique:  Satin stich or Buttonhole?? >

Machine Applique: Satin stich or Buttonhole??

Machine Applique: Satin stich or Buttonhole??

Old 05-23-2014, 04:44 PM
Power Poster

Lightbulb Machine Applique: Satin stich or Buttonhole??

I joined a sewers group a few months ago that meets at the local senior center once a week. We are suppose to make a block for a baby quilt for one of our members consisting of a 9 patch and a snowball block. I have seen some of the blocks come in with hand embroidery, hand applique and machine embroidery. So after stewing for over two weeks, I came up with this design since I didn't have any yellow chenille. But since it is a baby quilt which I have had very little experience with, should I satin stitch it or buttonhole stitch?? I usually use Mettler silk finished thread. Will that worked?? I need to get started on it first thing in the morning. I used Heat and Bond lite. THANKS for any suggestions!!
Attached Thumbnails scotty-baby.jpg  
Old 05-23-2014, 04:54 PM
Power Poster

i usually use buttonhole only because i'm not that good at satin stitching but since it's for a baby, maybe satin is better to be sure there are no ravelling edges. your applique is adorable.
Old 05-23-2014, 04:58 PM
Power Poster

You could even do a zig zag if necessary. But any of the mentioned stitches should work well. if you do the button hole stitch, just do it smaller width and length. Cute doggie block!
Old 05-23-2014, 05:23 PM

I love buttonhole and am not a fan of satin stitch because I think it looks too "manufactured". So I always do buttonhole.
Old 05-23-2014, 05:57 PM

I do a small zig zag stitch for my appliqués. I think it is more forgiving than a satin stitch. Like Speter said, the satin stitch does look "manufactured" and if you veer off a bit it is pretty obvious. Also, can be a nightmare to rip out if you make a mistake!
Old 05-23-2014, 05:57 PM