Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 73

Thread: Made some changes...need opinions again....

  1. #21
    Super Member Monika's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,376
    Quote Originally Posted by Prism99 View Post
    Here's a link to a random Single Irish Chain quilt:
    http://fabadashery.blogspot.com/2013...arm-quilt.html

    I think yours would look stunning with a silvery neutral gray as the background. A swirly batik cream/tan would be another nice choice. You really need a neutral to set off the brightly colored chains. (In my opinion.)
    I am still a novice myself, so for what it is worth, I agree with Prism99. While I like your fabrics and think it will beautiful no matter what, my eye can't really see the chain pattern. I think a neutral would help it be more readily identified as an Irish Chain.

  2. #22
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    6,574
    Blog Entries
    31
    If I remember correctly, You want an Irish Chain pattern, right? I would use your second trial. It would give you a single Irish Chain pattern.
    Nice colors!
    peace

    EDIT: The first and third are basically nine patches alternating witha filler block. The would not be an Irish Chain block.
    Last edited by ube quilting; 04-09-2013 at 02:16 PM.
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  3. #23
    Super Member DebraK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    8,493
    I like the top one.
    I have chosen to be happy because it is good for my health - Voltaire

  4. #24
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,713
    I like # 3 the colors pop more, more striking IMHO
    Brother XL-3500i, SQ-9050, Dreamweaver XE6200D

  5. #25
    Super Member charsuewilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    1,053
    #1. There's less contrast, but I still like it. The black in #3 is too severe. #2 would be ok, too.

  6. #26
    Junior Member SavedByGrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    260
    Do I just have the wrong pattern? I am completely undecided on this quilt and it's quickly becoming no fun at all. I loved the quilt that someone on here made for her granddaughters wedding.....maybe I should change to something like that. Opinions? When you are totally up-in-the-air on something, is that an indication that you need to go back to square one??

  7. #27
    Super Member Elisabrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Cody, Wyoming
    Posts
    5,525
    check out Judys mystery train think its the third one she has done an irish chain and there are dozens of examples of peoples work some worked some not so well.. I did it and loved my irish chain came out well one white one purple that really stood out. I think less color is more sometimes. If you go with what you have started out with the first catches my eye the most but maybe the lighter blue blocks would stand out more? I truly suggest you go see how everyone else did it and then you can make a better judgement call on what you want in YOUR quilt. after all your the one living with it in the end.
    Linda
    Here today... why what a lucky bunch we are.

  8. #28
    Super Member Elisabrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Cody, Wyoming
    Posts
    5,525
    ps the mystery train number 3 can be found in block of the month category.
    Linda
    Here today... why what a lucky bunch we are.

  9. #29
    Senior Member Judi in Ohio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    558
    I'm very happy you put some pattern in the fabric, but I am going to agree with prism here. You need a neutral to set off your colors - all your hues are the same, except for the black, of course. You need some color play, I think. The colors you are using are the same values.
    Judi in Ohio

  10. #30
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1,221
    I like the first one.

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.