Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 73

Thread: Made some changes...need opinions again....

  1. #1
    Senior Member SavedByGrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    302

    Made some changes...need opinions again....

    I changed things a little from the pics I posted last week. Still trying to decide on colors. What do you think? Which one do you think looks best?
    Attached Images Attached Images



  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    by the lake in piney woods of e. texas
    Posts
    151
    First one.

  3. #3
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    7,024
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm voting #1

  4. #4
    Super Member Quiltngolfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,252
    I like the first one best, but they are both pretty. The one with the black pops more.

  5. #5
    Member Threadbanger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    65
    I vote for #1
    Emily

    A fugitive from the Quilt Police

  6. #6
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,889
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the first one best too. However, I'm not keen on all the centers of the nine-patches being the same color. It turns the single Irish Chain into more of a nine-patch.

    I also think a single Irish Chain works better when the background fabric in the large squares and the background fabric of the nine-patches are the same fabric. The second photo is like this, but the fabric print is too different in feel from the batik chains to be effective, and also does not offer enough contrast to be effective.

    I would take some nine-patches to the store and lay them against several different background fabrics to find a better color combo. For example, I'd try the nine-patches against various batik creams and tans, or perhaps a bright steel gray, and plan to make both the large background squares and the nine-patch background squares that fabric. Also, I would keep the chains random. Random bright colors against a batik neutral would look fab, in my opinion.

  7. #7
    Senior Member SavedByGrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    302
    I wanted this to be an Irish chain. Am I correct in thinking that going with the black one will mess up the chains? Would the top one still look like a chain since the colors in the big square and the 4 little ones are so similar?

  8. #8
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,889
    Blog Entries
    1
    The black one definitely interferes with the Irish Chain pattern. I personally prefer all one background fabric (but the middle photo does not offer enough contrast with the chains). For the random chain approach, I would not have all the middle pieces of the nine-patch the same; that is more suitable for Grandmother's Flower Garden or plain nine-patch. My 32 cents (accounting for inflation).......

    p.s. I really think you need a neutral of some kind for the background fabric in order to set off the chains. For me, there's just way too much blue when blue is the background.
    Last edited by Prism99; 04-09-2013 at 12:58 PM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member SavedByGrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    302
    Prism99, I'm not following what you are saying about the middle squares in the 9-patches. For a single chain, don't they have to all be the same as the large squares? The top 2 pictures are deceiving as far as color. The bottom pic is much more accurate.

  10. #10
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    home again, after 27 yrs!
    Posts
    15,693
    Blog Entries
    2
    Number 1, then number 3.

  11. #11
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,889
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by SavedByGrace View Post
    Prism99, I'm not following what you are saying about the middle squares in the 9-patches. For a single chain, don't they have to all be the same as the large squares? The top 2 pictures are deceiving as far as color. The bottom pic is much more accurate.
    It's the yellow squares. They are in the center of each nine-patch. It really disrupts the flow of a random single Irish Chain pattern. The middle and corner pieces of the nine-patch form the Chain. It is the other pieces that should match the large background squares.

    Edit: Oh, I see why it was confusing. I should have said "center squares" instead of middle squares.

  12. #12
    Super Member nygal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    5,649
    I vote for 3. I like the contrast the black brings to it.
    When it seems like the world is falling to pieces remember that the pieces are falling into place. We are nearing closer to the End Times.

  13. #13
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,889
    Blog Entries
    1
    Here's a link to a random Single Irish Chain quilt:
    http://fabadashery.blogspot.com/2013...arm-quilt.html

    I think yours would look stunning with a silvery neutral gray as the background. A swirly batik cream/tan would be another nice choice. You really need a neutral to set off the brightly colored chains. (In my opinion.)

  14. #14
    Super Member quilt addict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,669
    If you want to keep the background fabric, I think either 1 or 2 will work. I agree with Prism that using the same center square in your 9 patch is distracting. I also would keep all your pieces of the 9 patch that are part of the chain a very dark or different color. The green you are using is too close in value to the background.
    Lisa

  15. #15
    Super Member AliKat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,890
    I like the 'pop' of #3.

    Next I like #1. Which at least has interest.

    #2 is way to bland.
    Have fun quilting! If it isn't fun, you will miss a lot.
    ali

  16. #16
    Super Member mike'sgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    starke,Florida
    Posts
    2,005
    I like that swirly fabric so much! I think the 1st one and then the 3rd.

  17. #17
    Super Member Crafty1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,321
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the third one best.

  18. #18
    Senior Member carolstickelmaier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    cental Illinois
    Posts
    521
    I vote No. 1

  19. #19
    Super Member Buckeye Rose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Monroe, IN
    Posts
    2,285
    If you are looking for a more subtle coloration, #1 is the choice....for a brighter look, I prefer #3

  20. #20
    Senior Member SavedByGrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    302
    Now I see what some of you mentioned about the yellow squares. That was quite unintentional. Thanks for the heads-up.....I didn't even notice that.

  21. #21
    Super Member Monika's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,754
    Quote Originally Posted by Prism99 View Post
    Here's a link to a random Single Irish Chain quilt:
    http://fabadashery.blogspot.com/2013...arm-quilt.html

    I think yours would look stunning with a silvery neutral gray as the background. A swirly batik cream/tan would be another nice choice. You really need a neutral to set off the brightly colored chains. (In my opinion.)
    I am still a novice myself, so for what it is worth, I agree with Prism99. While I like your fabrics and think it will beautiful no matter what, my eye can't really see the chain pattern. I think a neutral would help it be more readily identified as an Irish Chain.

  22. #22
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    9,469
    Blog Entries
    31
    If I remember correctly, You want an Irish Chain pattern, right? I would use your second trial. It would give you a single Irish Chain pattern.
    Nice colors!
    peace

    EDIT: The first and third are basically nine patches alternating witha filler block. The would not be an Irish Chain block.
    Last edited by ube quilting; 04-09-2013 at 02:16 PM.
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  23. #23
    Super Member DebraK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    9,193
    I like the top one.
    I have chosen to be happy because it is good for my health - Voltaire

  24. #24
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5,689
    I like # 3 the colors pop more, more striking IMHO
    Brother XL-3500i, SQ-9050, Dreamweaver XE6200D, Juki MO-2000QVP

  25. #25
    Super Member charsuewilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    1,203
    #1. There's less contrast, but I still like it. The black in #3 is too severe. #2 would be ok, too.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.