Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 73

Thread: Made some changes...need opinions again....

  1. #1
    Junior Member SavedByGrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    277

    Made some changes...need opinions again....

    I changed things a little from the pics I posted last week. Still trying to decide on colors. What do you think? Which one do you think looks best?
    Attached Images Attached Images      

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    by the lake in piney woods of e. texas
    Posts
    151
    First one.

  3. #3
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    7,020
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm voting #1

  4. #4
    Super Member Quiltngolfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    2,382
    I like the first one best, but they are both pretty. The one with the black pops more.

  5. #5
    Member Threadbanger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Carolina in the Morning
    Posts
    59
    I vote for #1
    Emily

    A fugitive from the Quilt Police

  6. #6
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,916
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the first one best too. However, I'm not keen on all the centers of the nine-patches being the same color. It turns the single Irish Chain into more of a nine-patch.

    I also think a single Irish Chain works better when the background fabric in the large squares and the background fabric of the nine-patches are the same fabric. The second photo is like this, but the fabric print is too different in feel from the batik chains to be effective, and also does not offer enough contrast to be effective.

    I would take some nine-patches to the store and lay them against several different background fabrics to find a better color combo. For example, I'd try the nine-patches against various batik creams and tans, or perhaps a bright steel gray, and plan to make both the large background squares and the nine-patch background squares that fabric. Also, I would keep the chains random. Random bright colors against a batik neutral would look fab, in my opinion.

  7. #7
    Junior Member SavedByGrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    277
    I wanted this to be an Irish chain. Am I correct in thinking that going with the black one will mess up the chains? Would the top one still look like a chain since the colors in the big square and the 4 little ones are so similar?

  8. #8
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,916
    Blog Entries
    1
    The black one definitely interferes with the Irish Chain pattern. I personally prefer all one background fabric (but the middle photo does not offer enough contrast with the chains). For the random chain approach, I would not have all the middle pieces of the nine-patch the same; that is more suitable for Grandmother's Flower Garden or plain nine-patch. My 32 cents (accounting for inflation).......

    p.s. I really think you need a neutral of some kind for the background fabric in order to set off the chains. For me, there's just way too much blue when blue is the background.
    Last edited by Prism99; 04-09-2013 at 12:58 PM.

  9. #9
    Junior Member SavedByGrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    277
    Prism99, I'm not following what you are saying about the middle squares in the 9-patches. For a single chain, don't they have to all be the same as the large squares? The top 2 pictures are deceiving as far as color. The bottom pic is much more accurate.

  10. #10
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    1,ooo miles from home
    Posts
    13,244
    Blog Entries
    2
    Number 1, then number 3.

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.