Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: This is making my head hurt!

This is making my head hurt!

I want to piece the back for a quilt because (a) I don't have enough of a single fabric and (b) I want to use all my scraps from the front. I've never done this before.

I am trying to figure out where the leftover pieces should go relative to the bigger pieces of fabric to make the back the size I need.

I've been trying to lay it out on graph paper this morning, but am not having a lot of luck. I get to a certain point and my head hurts and my eyes cross! I am considering cutting the larger pieces of fabric into, say, 12 inch blocks or strips and just start sewing everything together. Or perhaps I should look for a pattern to use for the back and hope I have enough fabric.

Thank you for ideas and/or tips.
    If I had known how much fun I could have quilting, I would have started 40 years ago!

Blog Entries
    I think it's easiest to cut wide strips of the larger pieces, then decide on a block size and make a strip of blocks (does not need to be the same size) to insert between the wide fabric strips. You could repeat this as needed to fill out the length. You could also use blocks just for part of a strip and fill out the rest with strips of fabric. Off-center the blocks. This would make for an interesting back that is not too much work.

Thank you, Prism99! I'll just screw my courage to the sticking post and start cutting!
    If I had known how much fun I could have quilting, I would have started 40 years ago!

Blog Entries
    Make a big square patch backing. Sew all the scrap pieces into big square pieces and then alternate the scrap squares with backing fabric squares. I do it this way to use up big scrap pieces and it makes a great backing fabric.