Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Male looking for advice on first quilt for mother >

Male looking for advice on first quilt for mother

Male looking for advice on first quilt for mother

Old 01-08-2014, 03:52 PM

Default Male looking for advice on first quilt for mother

Hi Everyone

I have joined this board in the hopes of getting some advice on my first quilting project. Being a 21 year old male, I have limited sewing experience primarily in hemming my BDUs and hemming Shemagh scarves for myself and friends.
[ATTACH=CONFIG]455554[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=CONFIG]455555[/ATTACH]
Here are two salvaged pieces from a “large pillow” my grandmother and great grandmother made for me as a birthday present back in 2000. Enclosed in the two halves was polyester batting and 4 buttons were sewn through the entire pillow to hold it together.

As I got older, the pillow slowly became obsolete due to different sleeping arrangements. I knew that one day my grandmothers would not be with me so I kept the front and back sheets in storage.
Unfortunately both of my grandmothers succumbed to cancer over the span 2011-2012. It hit my mother pretty hard, and she is still trying to get through it. It is my wish to re-purpose one of these halves into something for my mother for her upcoming birthday in February.

The two halves ‘colors are still bright as they weren't washed until today. I felt the need to hand wash because the materials are a little on the thin side and I didn’t want the washing machine to destroy them. The two halves measure 35x42 inches.

My question is, given the size of these halves, what do you suggest I make them into? I thought it would be nice to make one into a lap throw for my mother, but I was wondering how I could pull that off and reinforce the top so the patches would be durable.

Any help brainstorming would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails pillow-front.jpg   pillow-rear.jpg  
Old 01-08-2014, 04:07 PM