Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 72

Thread: Need opinions on buying sewing machone

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    360
    Blog Entries
    1
    I am looking to purchase a extra sewing machine so my granddaughter can have something to sew on when she is here, that way I still get to sews too! I am looking at the brother 60 stitch computerized sewing machine CS-6000i, cost $169.00 comes with quite a lot. Any opinions would be appreciated.


    Spelled machine wrong in the title....lol. Can't edit that, sorry.

  2. #2
    Senior Member CarrieC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    820
    I am not familiar with that machine. I got both of my DD (when they were in their early teens) Janome Gems.

    I know Brothers are well thought of machines. The price seems pretty easy to bear too!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    360
    Blog Entries
    1
    Yea price is an important factor for me.

  4. #4
    Super Member wuv2quilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morganton, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,930
    I've got one, and love it...great little machine :)

  5. #5
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,692
    My BIL girlfriend has one, she loves it. I have 2 other models love both. I say go for it

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Snowy Minnesota
    Posts
    665
    What kind of sewing do you think your granddaughter will do?

    If she's a beginner, she might be fine with the most simple/cheapest machine you can buy.

    If you expect her to expand her skills, then a machine with more flexibility makes sense.

    If you know she's "hooked," you may want to invest in a fine machine she can take with her into adulthood.

    FWIW, I have had bad experiences with plastic/made-in-a-developing-country sewing machines. (Sorry, but this includes the Brother CS-6000i.) They just don't hold up well under serious use. But if your granddaughter's use will be light and you don't care if the machine accompanies her into adulthood, the Brother may be a fine choice. (Unless I'm thinking of a different model, Consumers' Report gave it very good review several years ago.)

    On the other hand, if you want do want to buy a machine she can take with her, I encourage you to buy a non-plastic/non-3rd-world-made machine, even though they're way more expensive. One way to minimize their cost is to buy an older one on at an estate sale, on Craig's List, or on eBay. I'm convinced that an old Bernina is a better long term investment than a plastic machine

    Just my humble opinion, of course.

  7. #7
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,965
    I started with a Brother my DD bought for me at Walmart. It was the bottom of the line. I used it daily for three years and it is still my backup machine. I say go for it.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    788
    That is an excellent starter machine. Many people love it.

    My brother dealer has told me that their Walmart machines are not comparable to their dealer line, but it sews and quilts well for the price.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Enid, OK
    Posts
    8,930
    Blog Entries
    1
    buy her a singer 99 off ebay..simple to use, can't really mess it up, easy to up keep and will sew forever!

  10. #10
    Super Member Carron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    desert area of California
    Posts
    2,271
    I have Brothers from the simple to complex and love them all. Let her try the machines and see if she is comfortabel using them.

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.