Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 72

Thread: Need opinions on buying sewing machone

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    362
    Blog Entries
    1
    I am looking to purchase a extra sewing machine so my granddaughter can have something to sew on when she is here, that way I still get to sews too! I am looking at the brother 60 stitch computerized sewing machine CS-6000i, cost $169.00 comes with quite a lot. Any opinions would be appreciated.


    Spelled machine wrong in the title....lol. Can't edit that, sorry.

  2. #2
    Senior Member CarrieC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    818
    I am not familiar with that machine. I got both of my DD (when they were in their early teens) Janome Gems.

    I know Brothers are well thought of machines. The price seems pretty easy to bear too!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    362
    Blog Entries
    1
    Yea price is an important factor for me.

  4. #4
    Super Member wuv2quilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morganton, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,927
    I've got one, and love it...great little machine :)

  5. #5
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5,699
    My BIL girlfriend has one, she loves it. I have 2 other models love both. I say go for it

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Snowy Minnesota
    Posts
    1,319
    What kind of sewing do you think your granddaughter will do?

    If she's a beginner, she might be fine with the most simple/cheapest machine you can buy.

    If you expect her to expand her skills, then a machine with more flexibility makes sense.

    If you know she's "hooked," you may want to invest in a fine machine she can take with her into adulthood.

    FWIW, I have had bad experiences with plastic/made-in-a-developing-country sewing machines. (Sorry, but this includes the Brother CS-6000i.) They just don't hold up well under serious use. But if your granddaughter's use will be light and you don't care if the machine accompanies her into adulthood, the Brother may be a fine choice. (Unless I'm thinking of a different model, Consumers' Report gave it very good review several years ago.)

    On the other hand, if you want do want to buy a machine she can take with her, I encourage you to buy a non-plastic/non-3rd-world-made machine, even though they're way more expensive. One way to minimize their cost is to buy an older one on at an estate sale, on Craig's List, or on eBay. I'm convinced that an old Bernina is a better long term investment than a plastic machine

    Just my humble opinion, of course.

  7. #7
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,958
    I started with a Brother my DD bought for me at Walmart. It was the bottom of the line. I used it daily for three years and it is still my backup machine. I say go for it.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    816
    That is an excellent starter machine. Many people love it.

    My brother dealer has told me that their Walmart machines are not comparable to their dealer line, but it sews and quilts well for the price.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Enid, OK
    Posts
    8,923
    Blog Entries
    1
    buy her a singer 99 off ebay..simple to use, can't really mess it up, easy to up keep and will sew forever!

  10. #10
    Super Member Carron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    desert area of California
    Posts
    2,266
    I have Brothers from the simple to complex and love them all. Let her try the machines and see if she is comfortabel using them.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    880
    Blog Entries
    82
    I chose that model for my friend who wants to get 'back into sewing'. It comes with a needle threader and a table, plus it's lightweight. Although, I don't have the machine Pattern Review owners gave it good reviews. Search for it here as there has been threads mentioning that model.

  12. #12
    Super Member MaryStoaks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    La Quinta, CA
    Posts
    3,925
    I bought this exact machine for my neice and one for my grandaughter. I had one and liked it alot (eventually I gave mine to a friend who is learning to quilt). The price is good, lots of stitches and easy to use. :thumbup: :thumbup:

  13. #13
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,839
    I think the best route is to buy a used, older machine. If you can get your hands on an vintage Singer 400 or 500 series, your grand daughter can use and abuse it and it will keep on ticking. You should be able to find one near you for $50 or so. Cheaper and much better built so, it 's a win-win.

  14. #14
    Super Member athomenow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pataskala, OH
    Posts
    1,453
    I'd go on ebay, look for a good seller, buy an older Viking or name brand machine. I don't trust the Walmart machines because I got burned on a Brother serger. It's still in the closet if anyone wants it! I bought a Viking I could afford when I started sewing and it's a wonderful machine that I've had for over 20 years. Never had it in the shop. They are workhorses. They're just my preference and others have theirs. Try out the one you think you want. You'll know!

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    362
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Candace
    I think the best route is to buy a used, older machine. If you can get your hands on an vintage Singer 400 or 500 series, your grand daughter can use and abuse it and it will keep on ticking. You should be able to find one near you for $50 or so. Cheaper and much better built so, it 's a win-win.
    I wish I could, I have been searching craigs list and local paper, so far no luck.

  16. #16
    Super Member sparkys_mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,367
    I bought that Brother 3 years ago to take a quilting class. It still works great and is small and light enough to take to classes. And the price is right.

  17. #17
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,835
    Blog Entries
    45
    i got a lesser brother for under $100 and i am happy with it

  18. #18
    Senior Member KerryK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Heart of Dixie, Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    959
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by athomenow
    I'd go on ebay, look for a good seller, buy an older Viking or name brand machine. I don't trust the Walmart machines because I got burned on a Brother serger. It's still in the closet if anyone wants it! I bought a Viking I could afford when I started sewing and it's a wonderful machine that I've had for over 20 years. Never had it in the shop. They are workhorses. They're just my preference and others have theirs. Try out the one you think you want. You'll know!
    Is your Viking a 940 by any chance? That's what I have, and it's never given me any problem, nor has it ever been in the shop for anything. :thumbup: One of these days maybe I'll pamper it, and take it in for a "day at the spa" so she can come home all fresh and ready to go! She probably could use a good going-over!

  19. #19
    Senior Member Highmtn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    An Ocean Shore
    Posts
    968
    A good friend of mine wanted a second machine to take to classes. I suggested to look on Overstock.com as I had seen refurbished Janomes there for $100. She went to the big O...she bought one..... and she is THRILLED.

    The End...

    lol

  20. #20
    Senior Member so-sew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    659
    I know a lot of people roll their eyes at us Bernina lovers, but I urge you to look on Craigslist for an old Bernie. There aren't a lot around, but if you're lucky enough to find one, it's a fabulous investment and a joy to use. Otherwise, a vintage Singer 301 would be a good choice. When you say "grand daughter", I assume her sewing needs aren't anything fancy, just a good straight stitch with, perhaps, feed dogs that drop? I've heard so many horror stories about the new less expensive machines having issues shortly after purchase, that I would be cautious. Just my opinion. :)

  21. #21
    Junior Member tupoms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    110
    Hi Kathy,

    I bought that exact machine a few years ago. It is a great little machine. I since bought a Janome, but I still use use my little Brother for travel and as a 2nd machine. It is very light weight. My LQS uses several of these in her sewing/quilting classes and she speaks highly of them as well.
    good luck in your decision,
    ava

  22. #22
    Super Member sewdarnbusy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,029
    check out Janome, you get more bang for your buck. It's a quality machine that never needs oil.

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    479
    I have been watching these machines on e-bay so I can get one. They have new ones there and cheeper than that, some with free shipping.

  24. #24
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New Rockford, ND
    Posts
    1,693
    i have a little jamome gem take to quilting classes in town so i dont have to take my big machine and i just love it.

  25. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Southeast Va
    Posts
    245
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'd buy her a used one.....Craigs list or Ebay. You could get a real nice one for what you'd pay for a newbie. Lucky you to have a granddaughter to teach. She'll remember it forever!!!!!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.