Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need some expert help PLEASE!!!! >

Need some expert help PLEASE!!!!

Need some expert help PLEASE!!!!

Old 10-22-2013, 09:14 AM

Default Need some expert help PLEASE!!!!

Ok I need some help from the experts who are going to look at these pictures and say REALLY.
I am sure that it is an easy fix, but I am teaching myself. I am trying to make a mug rug and this is what is happening.
The machine I am using is a Brothers
Thanks in advance all the expert help
Attached Thumbnails imag0572.jpg   mug.jpg  
Old 10-22-2013, 09:17 AM

Well I am no expert but the 1st thing I would do is wind myself a new bobbin & make sure it is in correctly. Then run a straight stitch & adjust your tension if necessary. Good luck!
Old 10-22-2013, 09:18 AM

I'd first check that everything is threaded correctly--incorrect threading can cause those nests on the back.
Old 10-22-2013, 09:23 AM

SO, If it is threaded wrong would it still sew. I don't know
Old 10-22-2013, 09:27 AM

Originally Posted by tedytrser View Post
SO, If it is threaded wrong would it still sew. I don't know
In many cases it will still sew but have issues , such as the one you are showing. As a general rule if the underside of your work has stitching problems... check the top thread and tensions.
It looks like you are using "thread" that is thicker than piecing thread. Make sure you test your tension on a straight stitch on a sample sandwich. Make adjustments to tension ... and potentially the needle if its thick thread ( you many need a larger size, and use a metallic needle or top stitch). Then use the special stitch and make final tension adjustments on the sample.

Last edited by Lori S; 10-22-2013 at 09:30 AM.
Old 10-22-2013, 09:30 AM

My guess is that when you threaded the machine, you put the pressure foot down before you threaded it all the way to the needle. It looks to me like the thread didn't get between the tension disks properly.