Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
New to quilting - Making quilts from clothes >

New to quilting - Making quilts from clothes

New to quilting - Making quilts from clothes

Old 08-13-2015, 12:41 PM

Cool New to quilting - Making quilts from clothes

Hello,
As the title says, I'm new to quilting and I want to make several (8) quilts from clothes. My mother and grandmother passed away within the last two years and my sister and I want to make quilts out of their clothes. I found a good site to follow (http://www.mamadynamite.com/2013/03/...ory-quilt.html), but I have a few questions.
Does the fabric matter? My mom wore a lot of cotton, while my grandma preferred silky stuff. Could I still sew those together?
Is there a special/better type of thread to use for quilting?
And lastly, for the back side of the quilt, how much fabric should I get for just one blanket? I want every one to be able to snuggle up in the blanket.

Thanks in advance for all the help and advice.
Old 08-13-2015, 02:38 PM
Power Poster

You can mix the fabrics as long as you can launder them together. You will need to use an iron on stabilizer for the silky fabrics. Be careful and choose one that you can apply with a heat setting low enough that won't melt the silky fabrics, which I'm assuming are synthetics. As far as the backing is concerned, the web site you linked to doesn't use a backing fabric. Looks like they just applied the squares to a blanket. If you want to make a more traditional quilt, using batting & backing instead of the blanket, you need to provide the estimated size in inches for length and width in order to calculate yardage.
Old 08-13-2015, 04:46 PM

excellent answer, PaperPrincess. You didn't miss a beat.
Old 08-13-2015, 06:46 PM