Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: a new spool of thread?

  1. #1
    Senior Member CompulsiveQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    746
    The problems started with a new, same-thread spool - in the middle of a FMQ project that was going fine. The tension had been fine throughout. Now the stitches are skipping, OK enough on the front but so long and loose on the back. I've re-threaded a zillion times, tinkered with the tension anyway. Still skipped stitches ... What to do?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Granny Quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    WY
    Posts
    995
    Change the needle.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sturbridge, Ma
    Posts
    4,017
    and then do a bit of practice before you go back to the quilt.

  4. #4
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,113
    Blog Entries
    1
    try having the thread come off of the spool in the opposite direction :D:D:D

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,963
    Blog Entries
    2
    Make sure you have the thread and the bobbin threaded correctly. One missed step and it throws it all off.
    Good luck.

  6. #6
    Super Member BrendaY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,814
    Blog Entries
    6
    Yes.... do all of the above.... I've had the same thing happen to me and it's always been one of these... Who would think the thread coming one side or the other would make so much difference?!

  7. #7
    Senior Member kat13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    tx
    Posts
    419
    Also when checking your bobbin thread, clean the lint out, I use an old small paintbrush. I'm always surprised at how much lint there is after just a few hours of sewing with the cotton threads. Good luck

  8. #8
    Senior Member shnnn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    nevada
    Posts
    832
    I had issues with my last fmq project... 1st spool was fine, 2nd spool kept breaking threads, snarling up... tossed it... spool 3 fine again

    So if all else fails -- try some different thread and see if you are still having trouble

  9. #9
    Super Member CoyoteQuilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    2,306
    Loops on the back mean the tension on the top is off----silly question---did you put the pressure foot down?

  10. #10
    Member haircut2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Joliet IL
    Posts
    69
    Make sure bobbin thread is wound evenly...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.