Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Newbie here: have a Bernina question and I need help. >

Newbie here: have a Bernina question and I need help.

Newbie here: have a Bernina question and I need help.

Old 11-26-2013, 03:52 AM

Default Newbie here: have a Bernina question and I need help.

I am relatively new to quilting but it is my new passion and addiction. I have a brother cs6000i but I can tell it is not designed for what I am putting it through. I sew almost everyday. Anyway, I was wanting to get a Bernina and I would prob get a 215 in the store for $700. Of course, then I would have to buy a walking foot and darning foot which would prob cost an additional $200. Yikes! There is a 730e on craigslist that is 7 years old but it has everything with it including BSR and a walking foot for $840. I am not really into embroidery but I suppose it may be something in the future I could learn. I really want the BSR for free motion quilting. Of course there are no classes or warranty but I am self taught up to this point between blogs, Pinterest and YouTube so I don't know that the classes are a huge selling point other than the 45 minute class right when you pick up the machine. I am not sure what to do. Do I get a new one that is very basic? I think it only has like 12 stitches or something like that, without the option of BSR or do I buy used for the bells and whistles and because it's a lot more machine ( and BSR). So confused. I don't really have anyone to talk to in my area about this. I would appreciate any help I could get. Thank so much!
Old 11-26-2013, 04:23 AM