Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Opinion on Binding Color Please

  1. #1
    Senior Member cmw0829's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA area
    Posts
    953

    Opinion on Binding Color Please

    First, I'll say that I can't provide a picture because I'm at work. I know these kinds of questions are so much easier with pictures but I just thought about this on my way to work. So apologies for asking for opinions in a vacuum.

    Here's my quilt - all batiks - and gorgeous so far, if I say so myself:
    - Embroidered blocks on white
    - Each block framed in medium purple
    - Sashed in dusty rose pink print
    - Inner border, same purple as frame
    - Outer border of light green with purple and pink florals

    My question is on the binding. I've planned and made the binding in purple, but I'm thinking that the sashing fabric would be a better tie-in. Either looks equally good against the border fabric but I'm wondering if I have too much of the purple and too little of the pink.

    TIA,
    Cathy

  2. #2
    Super Member GrannieAnnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    S. W. Indiana
    Posts
    7,141
    I usually prefer the binding ot match the outer border, as much as you can.
    Bad Spellers of the World
    U N T I E

  3. #3
    Super Member Buckeye Rose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Monroe, IN
    Posts
    1,946
    I personally use the binding as a final frame for my quilt, so I would choose the purple. If you want the binding to blend with the quilt, then go with the same fabric as the outer border. Actually, any of the fabrics will work, it is just a matter of choosing the one you like the best.

  4. #4
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    31,717
    Blog Entries
    11
    since your purple frames the blocks and frames the inner portion of the quilt, i'd use the purple to frame the entire quilt as well. just the way you planned it.
    Nancy in western NY

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    2,463
    I'll go out of the box here. I would probably also use the same fabric as the sashing. I frequently like my bindings to 'pull' a little-used fabric out of the quilt to make it stand out in the quilt a bit more than it may be doing on it's own.

  6. #6
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13,670
    I'm also one who tends to bind in the same fabric as the final border.

    That being said ... contrasting bindings can be very effective and dramatic.
    And as you said ... a picture would help!

    There's so many variables ... the tones of the colours you mentioned, the width of the sashings/borders/frames, how many blocks you have etc.

    With the embroidery in the blocks, I'm thinking you probably want to pull the eye to the blocks, rather than away from ... which would be a huge consideration as to what might be done.

    Perhaps tonight, you'll take some pics and show us!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  7. #7
    Senior Member Handcraftsbyjen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    823
    I usually do my binding the same as my outer border, but purple sounds good for your binding to frame it all. Lately, I've not matched my borders to my binding...just look at my avatar.

  8. #8
    Super Member gramajo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Green Garden IL
    Posts
    1,779
    I agree with NJ Quilter. Since you feel you need a little more of the dusty rose, I'd use that to bind. I like to pull in a bit of color from the quilt as a "final frame".

  9. #9
    Super Member joyce888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    8,075
    Blog Entries
    1
    I usually ask myself does the outer border need to stand on its own or does the binding need to bring it all together? Sometimes the outer border will be bold either in color or motif so the binding can rein it in. If the border is soft in color or motif the binding just needs to finish the edge without drawing any attention. All these statements are only MHO.

    Sometimes I equate it to coloring a picture in a coloring book. Sometimes you would outline everything in black or use a color in a darker shade to outline (make sense?).
    Last edited by joyce888; 06-13-2012 at 06:59 AM.
    Joyce

  10. #10
    Super Member 117becca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    dayton OH
    Posts
    1,425
    I usually have to audition/try out different fabrics and see what looks the best. I will say that if i don't want to draw attention to the binding, then i use the same color as the outer border. If i want the binding to be noticed, then I'll use a contrasting fabric.
    my name is becca and i'm a quilt-a-holic :-)

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.