Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Opinions about the tin lizzie 18 quilting machine

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    264
    Blog Entries
    1

    Opinions about the tin lizzie 18 quilting machine

    Hello. I am just new to this board. I have just purchased a 5 year old used quilting machine. What are your opinions about this brand. Good , bad, problems you've had if any. Thank you for reading

  2. #2
    Super Member Charming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Perris, CA
    Posts
    1,877
    I have the Viking 18x8 which is the same as the Tin Lizzie and made by the same company and i love it. There is a learning curve in all these machines but once you get used to it, it works beautifully.
    Good luck
    Faten
    Www.easyquiltingcorner.com

    Work like you don't need the money
    Love like you have never been hurt

  3. #3
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    4,694
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm rather curious... Why wait until after you purchased the machine to ask about it?

  4. #4
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6,230
    Blog Entries
    2
    I also have the Viking version, which is the same as the Tin Lizzie 18LS. I really do like the machine, so far, it's taken every thread I've tried, including metallic.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  5. #5
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,368
    I also have the Viking version, I really love it!

  6. #6
    Super Member Dina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,269
    Stablemom, welcome to the board! I don't have a Tin Lizzie, so I can't offer an opinion there....I just wanted to welcome you from Texas. Are you pleased with your machine? I think that is what matters, as people have different expectations and what works for one person may not work for another.

    Dina

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    264
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Peckish View Post
    I'm rather curious... Why wait until after you purchased the machine to ask about it?

    HI Peckish. I bought it because the price was so good and that you almost never see one of these machines for sale. I did some checking on the internet and it seems the opinions and reviews there were 50% for and 50% against this brand. I thought long and hard one evening and decided to grab it. That person directed me to this board and I figured I would ask here , just to see the members personal experience. I did work the machine and it seemed to be smooth, easy to use and flowed. I'm pretty excited about it ,and you always run a risk when buying something used. But I would not be able to afford a new machine for yyyeeeaarrsss!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    51
    I have the queen quilter which is the same and I have had it for almost 4 years. I have the shirley stitcher II with
    it I really like mine and have never had any problems with it at all. I never have to mess with the tension or anything.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    45
    Welcome and congrats. I own a Nolting 24" PRO, love it. I've never used the Tin Lizzie. BUT most longarms are about the same in their workings except for the bells and whistles. Go over to Yahoo Groups and find the Tin Lizzie people and you'll find a wealth of knowledge and help, I'm sure.

  10. #10
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    4,694
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by stablemom View Post
    HI Peckish. I bought it because the price was so good and that you almost never see one of these machines for sale. I did some checking on the internet and it seems the opinions and reviews there were 50% for and 50% against this brand. I thought long and hard one evening and decided to grab it. That person directed me to this board and I figured I would ask here , just to see the members personal experience. I did work the machine and it seemed to be smooth, easy to use and flowed. I'm pretty excited about it ,and you always run a risk when buying something used. But I would not be able to afford a new machine for yyyeeeaarrsss!
    I wondered if it was a get-it-while-it's-hot kind of thing. I have one member of my quilting non-guild who owned a Tin Lizzie. She liked the machine but did struggle with an issue, someone to do with the needle. She DID say that the TL people were great and kept working with her to solve the problem.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.