Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Opinions about the tin lizzie 18 quilting machine

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    264
    Blog Entries
    1

    Opinions about the tin lizzie 18 quilting machine

    Hello. I am just new to this board. I have just purchased a 5 year old used quilting machine. What are your opinions about this brand. Good , bad, problems you've had if any. Thank you for reading

  2. #2
    Super Member Charming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    1,941
    I have the Viking 18x8 which is the same as the Tin Lizzie and made by the same company and i love it. There is a learning curve in all these machines but once you get used to it, it works beautifully.
    Good luck
    Faten
    Www.easyquiltingcorner.com

    Work like you don't need the money
    Love like you have never been hurt

  3. #3
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    6,163
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm rather curious... Why wait until after you purchased the machine to ask about it?

  4. #4
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,464
    Blog Entries
    2
    I also have the Viking version, which is the same as the Tin Lizzie 18LS. I really do like the machine, so far, it's taken every thread I've tried, including metallic.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  5. #5
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,361
    I also have the Viking version, I really love it!

  6. #6
    Super Member Dina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,060
    Stablemom, welcome to the board! I don't have a Tin Lizzie, so I can't offer an opinion there....I just wanted to welcome you from Texas. Are you pleased with your machine? I think that is what matters, as people have different expectations and what works for one person may not work for another.

    Dina

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    264
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Peckish View Post
    I'm rather curious... Why wait until after you purchased the machine to ask about it?

    HI Peckish. I bought it because the price was so good and that you almost never see one of these machines for sale. I did some checking on the internet and it seems the opinions and reviews there were 50% for and 50% against this brand. I thought long and hard one evening and decided to grab it. That person directed me to this board and I figured I would ask here , just to see the members personal experience. I did work the machine and it seemed to be smooth, easy to use and flowed. I'm pretty excited about it ,and you always run a risk when buying something used. But I would not be able to afford a new machine for yyyeeeaarrsss!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    71
    I have the queen quilter which is the same and I have had it for almost 4 years. I have the shirley stitcher II with
    it I really like mine and have never had any problems with it at all. I never have to mess with the tension or anything.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    45
    Welcome and congrats. I own a Nolting 24" PRO, love it. I've never used the Tin Lizzie. BUT most longarms are about the same in their workings except for the bells and whistles. Go over to Yahoo Groups and find the Tin Lizzie people and you'll find a wealth of knowledge and help, I'm sure.

  10. #10
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    6,163
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by stablemom View Post
    HI Peckish. I bought it because the price was so good and that you almost never see one of these machines for sale. I did some checking on the internet and it seems the opinions and reviews there were 50% for and 50% against this brand. I thought long and hard one evening and decided to grab it. That person directed me to this board and I figured I would ask here , just to see the members personal experience. I did work the machine and it seemed to be smooth, easy to use and flowed. I'm pretty excited about it ,and you always run a risk when buying something used. But I would not be able to afford a new machine for yyyeeeaarrsss!
    I wondered if it was a get-it-while-it's-hot kind of thing. I have one member of my quilting non-guild who owned a Tin Lizzie. She liked the machine but did struggle with an issue, someone to do with the needle. She DID say that the TL people were great and kept working with her to solve the problem.

  11. #11
    Super Member Annaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    9,749
    Quote Originally Posted by Peckish View Post
    I'm rather curious... Why wait until after you purchased the machine to ask about it?
    I was wondering about that too. I hope you have a lot of fun on your machine. Enjoy! Any
    quilting mid arm is better then no quilting machine. I bet you are enjoying the space under the arm.
    Anna Quilts

  12. #12
    Super Member knlsmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West central Illinois
    Posts
    2,972
    I have had my Tin Lizzie 18LS for a few years and added tge Quilt Magician last year. I can sew any thread with minor adjustments. I love my machine, and once we learned how to play together all has been good.

  13. #13
    Super Member knlsmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West central Illinois
    Posts
    2,972
    I can't copy n paste the Tinlizzie yahoo group on my phone, but I'm sure you can find it by searching. Definitely a good group.

  14. #14
    Super Member Christine-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    1,262
    I bought my Tin Lizzie at last year's Mid-Atlantic quilt festival. WONDERFUL MACHINE! I love, love, love it! I give it a beating at times, it keeps right on going and going. It's not fussy about thread types, I can use any thread on it. In the last year I've had a few issues that were user error (Me???? User error???? ) Tech support was WONDERFUL! I can't say enough about Tin Lizzie's tech support. Wow, I wish more companies took care of their customers like Tin Lizzie does... and the reason I can't say enough about Tin Lizzie is because the dealer I bought my machine from at the Mid-Atlantic quilt festival stopped selling Tin Lizzies a month after I bought it. It didn't matter one bit, Tin Lizzie really stands behind their machine.

    I found a short in the controller board on my machine last Tuesday, shipped it off to TL Wednesday night and on Friday afternoon they had it fixed and ready to ship back! I got a UPS tracking number that afternoon! WONDERFUL service!

    The machine I bought is the Tin Lizzie Ansley 26LS, on a Hailey 12' frame. I love this machine. I want to upgrade, probably next year, it will be another Tin Lizzie for me.

    Here's a photo of an American Hero quilt I finished last week...I used ruler work this time.

    Name:  IMG_6455.JPG
Views: 530
Size:  479.6 KB

    Christine
    http://www.quiltdasher.blogspot.com/

  15. #15
    Super Member Christine-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    1,262
    I thought I'd add some more info I learned at the Tin Lizzie booth last weekend. I love going to quilt shows! You can try out different long arms all under one roof and decide which one you like the best. I tried out the APQS, Gammil and still, the Tin Lizzie is the best one.

    I learned the new Tin Lizzie machines have a new motor, one without brushes. Nearly every sewing machine made at one time had brushes in the motors. I've torn a few Featherweight motors apart in my time and the brushes do need replacing in the lifetime of the motor, depending on the use it gets.

    But a brush motor can only go so fast before you start outsewing the motor, the machine can't keep the stitches going when you move ultra-fast with a long arm. The new Tin Lizzie motor has no brushes and the new design allows for ultra-fast movement as you sew. I have a Tin Lizzie Ansley 26, a 2010 model which I absolutely love. Truly, I don't need a new machine, this Ansley 26 will last me another 30 years happily sewing to my heart's content... but when I get a daughter out of college and my son through occupational therapy I have a new Tin Lizzie on my horizon!!!

    I met Kelly and Tim, both I've talked with on the phone in the past, it was so nice meeting them. Tim showed me how the new motor works, and oh my gosh... the new motor controls the stitches B-E-A-U-tifully!!! I nearly drooled on the handles. EVIL man! The man is obviously an EVIL ENABLER!!! I barely made it outta there without a new machine. I'm still in withdrawal after being at the Tin Lizzie booth last weekend.

    If you get a chance to go to a quilt show, don't hesitate! You learn so much when you spend time at the Tin Lizzie booth. I'm so glad I went... except for that evil man... and the withdrawal... (smile)
    Last edited by Christine-; 02-28-2013 at 08:27 PM.
    Bernina 640, Singer 201-3, Singer Centennial 15-91, Tin Lizzie 26" long arm

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ok
    Posts
    450
    Christine. I know this is an old thread but I am hoping you might be watching and have and answer for me. I just purchased a used Ansley 26 with a hailey frame. I have searched youtube and can't find exactly how to load a quilt on the frame. I have the instructions but not really sure I have it right. Do you know of a video to watch? I notice you don't have your top on a roller. Hope you or someone lurking can help me.
    Fran

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.