Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Opinions and assistance please - Mega Quilter and Inspira frame

  1. #1
    Senior Member GEMRM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    South West Ontario
    Posts
    602

    Opinions and assistance please - Mega Quilter and Inspira frame

    Hello all, looking to this community for some opinions and assistance - I am looking to move to a machine with a larger throat space, and I found someone locally selling a Husqvarna Mega Quilter with an Inspira frame that adjusts from 5 - 10 feet.
    It's a few years old and reportedly in very good condition.
    Before I go look at this, if all is in good condition, and runs well, what would be a reasonable price to expect to pay? Also, are there any flaws or particular problems I should watch out for?
    While I have many years of sewing on DSMs, I am a little wary of the things I might not know with these products.

    BTW, vendor is asking almost $2000. for the set. Any thoughts greatly appreciated!!
    GEMRM

  2. #2
    QKO
    QKO is offline
    Super Member QKO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Western Nevada
    Posts
    2,528
    Is it the 9 inch Mega quilter or the 18 inch Megaquilter ???

    If it's the 9 inch then the asking price is a bit high IMO, if it's the 18 inch it's probably pretty close to being very fair. Also does a stitch regulator come with it?

    The 18 inch MQ is, I believe (and others will correct me if I'm wrong) pretty much the same machine as the Tin Lizzie 18LS, so you should be able to find out what to look for there by searching on that as well.

    The 9 inch MQ is a really rugged machine, the main issues are that it needs frequent cleaning and oiling -- at least at every other bobbin change, but that's just normal maintenance.
    Last edited by QKO; 01-22-2012 at 07:19 AM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member GEMRM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    South West Ontario
    Posts
    602
    Hello, thanks for the quick response. I have emailed the vendor to see if it is the 9 or the 18. I also asked re the stitch regulator, so hopefully they get back to me quickly.
    As for frequent cleaning and oiling, I tend to do so anyway so that wouldn't be a drawback.
    I will post how I make out,
    thanks again,
    GEMRM

  4. #4
    KLO
    KLO is offline
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    North Central, NC
    Posts
    1,637
    Blog Entries
    26
    I have an Inspira frame and a Pfaff 1200 which has the 9 inch space and is similar to the Mega. If the one you are looking at is the 9 inch, I would also say it is too high. Maybe you can go see it and then make an offer. If it has the individual stitch regulator, then it is definitely worth more than without it. For the 9 inch with the regulator, I would be inclined to offer in the $1500 range and see what they say. However, I am in the US and don't know if prices would be the same or not. I bought mine used for $1000 and then another $250 for the regulator which I bought separately on ebay. Perhaps others will have more input on this subject. Good luck.

  5. #5
    Senior Member GEMRM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    South West Ontario
    Posts
    602
    Things tend to cost more north of the 49th parallel, and I am still waiting to hear back from the vendor. I am not sure it is still available, as the listing is over two months old.

  6. #6
    Senior Member GEMRM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    South West Ontario
    Posts
    602
    PS, thanks for the good wishes from both of you!

  7. #7
    Senior Member GEMRM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    South West Ontario
    Posts
    602
    Well, I never did hear back from the vendor, took that as an omen, and found another deal on a Janome 1600 and Little Gracie Frame. Now to find the time to get at learning to use them!

  8. #8
    Junior Member Karenowc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    293
    that's great - enjoy the process.
    Karen in CA
    Babylock Ellisimo, Babylock Enlighten Serger, Janome 6600, Janome 760 for travel

  9. #9
    Senior Member GEMRM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    South West Ontario
    Posts
    602
    Ah, but first I have to re-org my entire room to fit it in. DH assisted with ideas and tape measure last night, DD is coming over soon to assist with the shift and shove. Hope to get it settled by this evening so DH can reassemble the frame for me tomorrow, and I can set off on the adventure.
    Thanks to all for comments etc.
    GEMRM

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    20
    Hi GEMRM,
    I am from SWOntario also. I am looking into a 9" Mega Quilter and Inspira Frame also. It is 3 years old and includes a laser. They are asking $2500 (she paid $4,000 for it when bought). Is this a good price? What did you get the set you purchased for? Many thanks!!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.