Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Opinions needed on which machine would be best for me

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    82

    Opinions needed on which machine would be best for me

    Hi,
    I am looking for another sewing machine. I am looking for something inexpensive, and so far I am thinking on the Janome Magnolia 7318 and Janome HD3000. I was hoping to get some opinions on which one might be better. I mostly quilt smaller items, do paper piecing, or craft items, not a lot of garment sewing. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Super Member Charming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Perris, CA
    Posts
    1,870
    I don't really know anything about the machines but whenever I want to look for something I try to find it first on www.amazon.com because I get to read the reviews on them before I decide the purchase.
    Hope that helps
    Faten
    Work like you don't need the money
    Love like youÂ’ve never been hurt

  3. #3
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,036
    Blog Entries
    1
    Another good place to check out reviews of specific models is http://www.patternreview.com . To read the older posts, you need to register (but registration is free). Basically you can look up a brand name and then, in the list of reviews, look for the specific model you are interested in.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Sewing Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New Albany, Indiana
    Posts
    136
    I haven't used the HD3000, but have used one of its predecessors (4618??). I have a 7318, which is fine for what it is. Both are going to be good solid mechanical machines with no frills (like needle up/down). The HD3000 has a needle threader and compartments to store the feet. The 7318 only has a slide out tray. I think the HD3000 comes with a few more feet too. For me, the HD3000 would slightly edge out the 7318, but I think the 7318 is prettier (whatever that's worth ).
    Joe in New Albany, IN

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mechanicsville, IA
    Posts
    1,265
    Have you considered a vintage machine? There are some great ones out there that will do what you are looking for. For instance a Singer model 15-91 or a model 301.
    Cheryl Robinson
    http://www.silverneedlestitching.com
    APQS Millenium Longarm with Intelliquilter

  6. #6
    Super Member AshleyR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,099
    Blog Entries
    30
    A friend has a Magnolia, and I'd never touched one before. She said it was having trouble, so I took it home with me and I cleaned and oiled it. I was surprised at how "cheap" it was. I like Janomes. I have a Janome. But I wouldn't waste my time with a Magnolia. It was very lightweight and bounced when I sewed with it. I think I'd save my money and get a new $80 Brother or Singer instead.
    I got my Janome at a pawn shop. I recommend if you're looking for a sewing machine to start at a pawn shop. I have gotten my last two clones at pawn shops for $15 each. Someone beat me to it, but I saw a Singer One going into layaway a few months ago! There are a lot of the "beginner" machines for $20-30 too.
    You can have any design you want. As long as it's loops!

  7. #7
    Super Member ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    8,887
    if you can it is a good idea to visit dealers/shops & test drive machines---we are all different- and what one person may love you may hate...try out as many as you can then decide what features/machines YOU like
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

  8. #8
    Super Member Sandygirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    1,933
    We are all different in our opinions and experiences. What do you consider to be " inexpensive"??? My range s $200-$500. Anything cheaper is probably not going last very long. I prefer computerized models vs mechanical. $500 is what i paid for my Janome 350. I am a huge Janome fan!

    I am not interested in " vintage". I Have a 1953 Singer that i have never used. It belonged to my late aunt. It is a decoration for me. I love my Janome 9700 tho. I should probably use that Singer sometime.

    Pattern review is great!
    Sandy
    Sandygirl

    Janome 9900 / Janome 9700 / Janome Decor 3050 / Janome 1100D serger
    Singer Centennial model (inherited from my late, fav aunt!)

  9. #9
    Junior Member marybs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Metro West, Massachusetts
    Posts
    198
    I really think that the most important thing in choicing a machine is to choice a dealer that you can work with. You will want to have owners classes, a dealer that stands by what they sell. Some shops will offer a free first year cleaning/tune up. I work in a quilt store and see too many frustrated sewers who have bought their machine and never learn to use it, or buy a cheap machine that is worthless and takes away all they fun they should be having.
    That said, I don't own a Husqvarna Viking, but the shop I work in sells them and after seeing them and how the company stands by them I have one on my wish list. Have fun shopping!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    82
    Thank you everyone for your helpful replies. I appreciate them all!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.