Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Opinions needed on which machine would be best for me

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    82

    Opinions needed on which machine would be best for me

    Hi,
    I am looking for another sewing machine. I am looking for something inexpensive, and so far I am thinking on the Janome Magnolia 7318 and Janome HD3000. I was hoping to get some opinions on which one might be better. I mostly quilt smaller items, do paper piecing, or craft items, not a lot of garment sewing. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Super Member Charming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    1,941
    I don't really know anything about the machines but whenever I want to look for something I try to find it first on www.amazon.com because I get to read the reviews on them before I decide the purchase.
    Hope that helps
    Faten
    Www.easyquiltingcorner.com

    Work like you don't need the money
    Love like you have never been hurt

  3. #3
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,141
    Blog Entries
    1
    Another good place to check out reviews of specific models is http://www.patternreview.com . To read the older posts, you need to register (but registration is free). Basically you can look up a brand name and then, in the list of reviews, look for the specific model you are interested in.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Sewing Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New Albany, Indiana
    Posts
    142
    I haven't used the HD3000, but have used one of its predecessors (4618??). I have a 7318, which is fine for what it is. Both are going to be good solid mechanical machines with no frills (like needle up/down). The HD3000 has a needle threader and compartments to store the feet. The 7318 only has a slide out tray. I think the HD3000 comes with a few more feet too. For me, the HD3000 would slightly edge out the 7318, but I think the 7318 is prettier (whatever that's worth ).
    Joe in New Albany, IN

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mechanicsville, IA
    Posts
    1,488
    Have you considered a vintage machine? There are some great ones out there that will do what you are looking for. For instance a Singer model 15-91 or a model 301.
    Cheryl Robinson
    http://www.silverneedlestitching.com
    APQS Millenium Longarm with Intelliquilter

  6. #6
    Super Member AshleyR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,099
    Blog Entries
    30
    A friend has a Magnolia, and I'd never touched one before. She said it was having trouble, so I took it home with me and I cleaned and oiled it. I was surprised at how "cheap" it was. I like Janomes. I have a Janome. But I wouldn't waste my time with a Magnolia. It was very lightweight and bounced when I sewed with it. I think I'd save my money and get a new $80 Brother or Singer instead.
    I got my Janome at a pawn shop. I recommend if you're looking for a sewing machine to start at a pawn shop. I have gotten my last two clones at pawn shops for $15 each. Someone beat me to it, but I saw a Singer One going into layaway a few months ago! There are a lot of the "beginner" machines for $20-30 too.
    You can have any design you want. As long as it's loops!

  7. #7
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    11,301
    Blog Entries
    1
    if you can it is a good idea to visit dealers/shops & test drive machines---we are all different- and what one person may love you may hate...try out as many as you can then decide what features/machines YOU like
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

  8. #8
    Super Member Sandygirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    4,421
    We are all different in our opinions and experiences. What do you consider to be " inexpensive"??? My range s $200-$500. Anything cheaper is probably not going last very long. I prefer computerized models vs mechanical. $500 is what i paid for my Janome 350. I am a huge Janome fan!

    I am not interested in " vintage". I Have a 1953 Singer that i have never used. It belonged to my late aunt. It is a decoration for me. I love my Janome 9700 tho. I should probably use that Singer sometime.

    Pattern review is great!
    Sandy
    Sandygirl

    Janome 9900 / Janome 9700 / Janome Decor 3050 / Janome 1100D serger
    Singer Centennial model (inherited from my late, fav aunt!)

  9. #9
    Junior Member marybs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Metro West, Massachusetts
    Posts
    232
    I really think that the most important thing in choicing a machine is to choice a dealer that you can work with. You will want to have owners classes, a dealer that stands by what they sell. Some shops will offer a free first year cleaning/tune up. I work in a quilt store and see too many frustrated sewers who have bought their machine and never learn to use it, or buy a cheap machine that is worthless and takes away all they fun they should be having.
    That said, I don't own a Husqvarna Viking, but the shop I work in sells them and after seeing them and how the company stands by them I have one on my wish list. Have fun shopping!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    82
    Thank you everyone for your helpful replies. I appreciate them all!

  11. #11
    Super Member Annaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    9,891
    I agree. If you like paper piecing you will love a vintage machine.
    The Singer 15-91 and 301 came to my mind too. These are straight stich though a 401 or rocketeer with cams will give you more options.


    Quote Originally Posted by Silver Needle View Post
    Have you considered a vintage machine? There are some great ones out there that will do what you are looking for. For instance a Singer model 15-91 or a model 301.
    Last edited by Annaquilts; 11-23-2012 at 07:41 AM.
    Anna Quilts

  12. #12
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,829
    Quote Originally Posted by Sandygirl View Post
    We are all different in our opinions and experiences. What do you consider to be " inexpensive"??? My range s $200-$500. Anything cheaper is probably not going last very long. I prefer computerized models vs mechanical. $500 is what i paid for my Janome 350. I am a huge Janome fan!

    I am not interested in " vintage". I Have a 1953 Singer that i have never used. It belonged to my late aunt. It is a decoration for me. I love my Janome 9700 tho. I should probably use that Singer sometime.

    Pattern review is great!
    Sandy

    I agree with you. You couldn't pay me to sew on a vintage machine! I had a 1958 Montgomery Wards machine and you couldn't sew a straight quarter inch seam on that machine to save your life. Of course it didn't have such nice things as needle up/down and programable stitches either. I love my modern machines.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.