Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Opinions on repair pricing

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    55

    Question Opinions on repair pricing

    I have repaired a few old quilts for people, these are not heirloom quality, but do mean a lot to the individuals. Usually a quilt used and abused and then they realize they can't get another just like it. Anyway, I have set my price at $8 per hour plus materials. I just finished repairing a queen sized quilt that had some diamonds totally gone, which I replaced, and quilted, then I applied a new binding by hand (front and back), leaving the original intact to maintain original workmanship. This quilt was originally hand made throughout. Anyway, I have more than 16 hours of work in this quilt which will amount to $120 for labor. This seems really high to me. What is everyone's opinion on this?

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sturbridge, Ma
    Posts
    4,017
    If it took you that long to do the repair and you have an houry rate then that is the price for the repair. I would not advice you looking at the situation from the buyer's viewpoint but rather you as the repairman. How much would you pay if the plumber or electrician came to fix the light switch?

  3. #3
    Super Member tatavw01's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    1,212
    Blog Entries
    1
    why are questioning yourself. you did what you set out to do and I'm sure you did a great job. She would pay the plumber wouldn't she.

  4. #4
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albany, Oregon
    Posts
    10,701
    To me it sounds very reasonable. You have a special skill, and your price is set. The only question I would have would be whether the customer was given an estimate up front of how long it might take. If she was expecting it to take only 2 hours, then she will be shocked to get the repair bill. That's true of any type of repair, even plumbing, LOL. Just keep the customer in the loop.

  5. #5
    Super Member ArtsyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,803
    Eight dollars an hour plus materials is more than fair. Like Dunster says, if you are able to give an up-front estimate of how long it would take then the customer should not be surprised at the final price. Having done a repair myself, I know that it is painstaking work with a lot of concentration and skill involved.
    A fabric stash is always missing that one fabric needed to finish the quilt on which you're working.

  6. #6
    Super Member Jan in VA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.
    Posts
    6,418
    NO! it is not even close to being too high! Receive the advice of the others here and believe in your own work's value.

    Jan in VA
    Jan in VA
    Living in the foothills
    peacefully colors my world.

  7. #7
    Senior Member quilticing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lake City, MI
    Posts
    580
    Jan's right. I charge $10/hr.

  8. #8
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,362
    Jan is right!

  9. #9
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,110
    I've done alterations for the general public for over 40 years!
    (yikes.. that's a looooooong time)
    And figure if I can't earn at least $10 per hour, I'm in the wrong business. In this part of the world, people that clean houses earn that much. Honestly, that doesn't require as much skill as repairing an heirloom quilt.

    Believe it's important to give the customer an estimate and while doing that inform them it's not "written in stone", as you never know what you're going to run into.

    Know the value of your work!

  10. #10
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,615
    Your customer is getting a steal to have an heirloom quilt repaired for that little!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.