Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Photos on Quilts >

Photos on Quilts

Photos on Quilts

Old 10-29-2016, 07:10 PM

Default Photos on Quilts

I have a HP OfficeJet 7612 Printer. I want to copy and print photos on fabric for my next quilt. Since this is my first try at doing this, I did a test run in which my photos turned out great, however, when I washed them the colors faded something awful. What can I do to prevent this from happening?

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.
Old 10-29-2016, 07:23 PM

Originally Posted by BETTY62 View Post
I have a HP OfficeJet 7612 Printer. I want to copy and print photos on fabric for my next quilt. Since this is my first try at doing this, I did a test run in which my photos turned out great, however, when I washed them the colors faded something awful. What can I do to prevent this from happening?

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.
haven't used it, but know there is a white fabric that is especially made for photos--it doesn't have the chemical finishes on it and think that is suppose to make it print (and stay??) better.
Old 10-29-2016, 07:35 PM
Power Poster

Try googling bubble jet set. Fabric requires special treatment to retain ink. Or use Spoonflower.com
Old 10-29-2016, 08:29 PM

I used Printed Treasures fabric from JoAnn's and heat set it with the iron like crazy. My son is compulsive launderer and the pictures are holding up fine. My printer was a HP officejet, too. Loved the colors on that one. My current one, a Dell, has terrible color.
Old 10-30-2016, 04:09 AM

HP uses a water soluble ink. Most home printers do. (Epson may not) I don't know how to solve your problem, but that's what causes it.

bkay
Old 10-30-2016, 04:27 AM
Gay