Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Prewash with color catcher? >

Prewash with color catcher?

Prewash with color catcher?

Old 10-02-2014, 08:00 AM

Default Prewash with color catcher?

I have a yard of red fabric that has soaked 3 times now....water is still slightly dis colored- much less color than the first soaking. I will be using this red fabric with lots of white fabric....if I prewash the entire piece with a color catcher, will that prevent any bleeding when I use bits of fabric in quilts? Or should I just continue to soak? I prefer not to use any other chemicals with my fabric. Thank you!
Old 10-02-2014, 08:12 AM

No, color catchers do not pull color from fabric, they just catch the color from the water so it doesn't bleed onto the other fabrics that are being washed in the same load.

If I were having that much difficulty getting the color to stabilize, I'd add a 1/4C vinegar to the tub. When I used to work as a stylist for an upscale clothing store, we always recommended that to clients for the first wash for blue jeans & certain other articles with intense color that was likely to bleed. Vinegar and cold water helps to set the color. I've also done that with RIT-dyed fabrics.
Old 10-02-2014, 08:22 AM

I've tried the vinegar alone and the vinegar plus salt recipes, and they didn't work for my indigos. I ended up washing them about 7 times - that helped, but I'm thinking a Retayne dye fix would work even better.
Old 10-02-2014, 08:39 AM
Power Poster

The old fashioned vinegar setting only works with NATURAL dyes (plant based dyes) Today's chemical dyes need to be set with something like Retayne color fixative. It can be found at several on line sources like Dharma and Amazon has many sources. Just google it.
Old 10-02-2014, 08:49 AM