Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   buying fabirc (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/buying-fabirc-t81123.html)

sustraley 12-06-2010 07:32 PM

so since I am a newbie, I have a question regarding buying fabric. If you see a fabric you like, how do you figure out how much to buy?

erstan947 12-06-2010 07:35 PM

I buy what I can afford that day and find something to do with it later. Sometimes it a fat quarter sometimes it's 6 or 8 yards. I do not have a method or reason other that I like it and I like the price.

deema 12-06-2010 07:36 PM

Originally Posted by erstan947
I buy what I can afford that day and find something to do with it later. Sometimes it a fat quarter sometimes it's 6 or 8 yards. I do not have a method or reason other that I like it and I like the price.

Pretty much this. I buy what I can like and as much as I can afford or want of it. Sometimes I see it and a plan pops into my head, sometimes I see it and just *need* to have it! :lol:

sahm4605 12-06-2010 07:38 PM

it just depends on if there is a project you have in mind. if not and you really have to have the fabric then what I do is get two yards. most get either 2 or 3 yards. on fabric they like that is not planned for a project at the time of purchase. if you are wanting to use it for a specific project it just depends on how much you need. I would recommend getting at least 1/2 yard extra of that fabric just in case you make a boo boo cutting. but that is just me.

frugalfabrics 12-06-2010 07:42 PM

I started out buying a minimum of one yard of anything I liked, but now I buy a 3 yard minimum, so I can be guaranteed to have enough to back a quilt with it if I want to....so it really depends on what you might be using it for.

cjomomma 12-06-2010 07:50 PM