Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Choosing thread color (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/choosing-thread-color-t176959.html)

luv2so 01-25-2012 04:37 PM

Choosing thread color

I just finished piecing my very first quilt top (and they say you can't teach and old dog new tricks) but I'm not sure how to choose the color of thread. The main part is a very pale aqua, it has other colors from brght greens, some purples, violets, light blues. Not my color choices, this is for my 12 year old granddaughter, she picked the colors.

Anyway, how do I know what color would be best to use? Would you suggest the light aqua? Or would it be best to use a neutral color?

I've been sewing for over 50 years and this is my first attemt at a quilt. Why I'm doing this at this age I'm not sure but I did it anyway, just stuck on what color thread to use.

I thought I better ask so this thing that took me two weeks to piece, doesn't end up getting shoved in a drawer some where.

Thanks!
Diana

momto5 01-25-2012 05:01 PM

When I have a quilt with multiple colors in it, I try to find a variegated thread with those colors in it. If I can't, I'll use either a dark or a light neutral (depending on how the quilt affects you, ie, does it come on a dark or light?) Hope this helps and makes a little sense to you!

DogHouseMom 01-25-2012 05:22 PM

How about a medium light silvery grey - that would compliment all of your colors.

Grambi 01-25-2012 05:45 PM

Can you post a picture of the quilt?

Silver Needle 01-25-2012 06:18 PM