Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Estate Sale find - what would you make with these fabrics? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/estate-sale-find-what-would-you-make-these-fabrics-t216627.html)

ArchaicArcane 03-17-2013 01:07 PM

Estate Sale find - what would you make with these fabrics?

1 Attachment(s)
I went to an estate sale on Friday, and picked up what looks like fabric that was matched for a project. I liked most of the fabrics in it, and figured I would see if I could come up with something that would look nice. It's about 1m of fabric total, and I'm a rank amateur quilter. (I usually tell people I'm an "almost has begun" quilter. My first quilt (an out of control lap quilt) is currently a UFO (awaiting binding), so I do need a relatively easy quilt block to try. Maybe something with half square triangles?
Those don't -completely- terrify me... but should stretch my skill set.

I really enjoy FMQ, though I'm definitely "learning" at that too.

What would you do with these fabrics?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]402403[/ATTACH]

quiltsRfun 03-17-2013 01:34 PM

Disappearing 9 Patch in which case I'd use the yellow for the center so it doesn't overpower everything else. Or possibly pinwheels if you add a light background color. Or maybe Churn dash, again adding a light background.

zennia 03-17-2013 01:39 PM

I don't know what to make but the fabric is really pretty.

nygal 03-17-2013 01:46 PM

Oh I love that batik on the right with the leaves. Very pretty.

ArchaicArcane 03-17-2013 02:08 PM

Originally Posted by quiltsRfun (Post 5934855)
Disappearing 9 Patch in which case I'd use the yellow for the center so it doesn't overpower everything else. Or possibly pinwheels if you add a light background color. Or maybe Churn dash, again adding a light background.