Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   HELP, the ink washed out of my label! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/help-ink-washed-out-my-label-t167693.html)

Denise S 11-11-2011 11:02 AM

HELP, the ink washed out of my label!

I just made my first label on my printer with freezer paper. Just washed the quilt, and the writing was gone! Has that happened to any of you?

I guess I will write on it with pigma pen....does that wash out??

I am supposed to be gifting it to someone today.

AFQSinc 11-11-2011 11:14 AM

I've never tried with a printer before. I've only ever used pens. Just make sure that your label material is clean. I put a drop or two of dishwashing soap on it and wash it in the sink and then throw it in the dryer. Then apply your freezer paper and write the label. Make sure to set the ink with a hot, dry iron and it should be fine.

LivelyLady 11-11-2011 11:40 AM

Sorry that happened. I would just use a pigma pen and rewrite the label

Denise S 11-11-2011 11:47 AM

I just used a permanent sharpie and heat set it, which is what I usually do. My pigma pen is way way too fine. Oh well. I figured I would try something new.

I used to hand stitch my labels....I would put my first initial, last name, and the year...they were nice, but a bit time consuming. Thanks.

franc36 11-11-2011 11:50 AM

Originally Posted by LivelyLady (Post 4666809)
Sorry that happened. I would just use a pigma pen and rewrite the label

That's what I'd do also. I've never had the printer ink disappear. After printing, I put the label in hot water to soak for awhile. When the label in dry, I press it and sew it to the quilt. So far, that has worked for me.

woody 11-11-2011 12:50 PM