Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How Could I do That? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-could-i-do-t54129.html)

Sandra-P 07-12-2010 12:21 PM

I am fairly new to quilting and very new to free motion quilting.
I made my grandson a small quilt, safari animals on the front, cozy flannel leopard print on the back. I thought I was doing so well, I did the quilting on it but my poor hands were sore the next day, especially one thumb. It was only after I was reading a magazine about FMQ that I realized that I forgot to lower my feed dogs......No wonder it was harder than heck to tug around. At least my machine still seems fine after doing that. Please, join me, I dont want to feel foolish all by myself, tell me what silly mistake you have made, either now or when you first started quilting. Hopefully we can learn from each other.
Sandra

cjomomma 07-12-2010 12:24 PM

There are no mistakes just lessons. That is if you learn from them.

Bluphrog 07-12-2010 12:24 PM

Along the same lines, trying to sew forward when the lever is on Reverse.

bearisgray 07-12-2010 12:26 PM

Or wondering why it was sewing wonky when the presser foot was so loose it was ready to fall off.

grann of 6 07-12-2010 12:28 PM

Hi, welcome. I am new to the website, fairly new to quilting. My neighbor (now sadly deceased) got me into quilting. She got me started making placemats. I was so proud of what I had accomplished, only to turn the placemat over to find pleats all over the place. Now why didn't I think of using the walking foot?!?!? Now keep in mind that I have made several wedding gowns, and more window treatments than you could count.

Bluphrog 07-12-2010 12:31 PM

Originally Posted by grann of 6