Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How long (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-long-t42285.html)

Alu_Rathbone 04-09-2010 08:15 PM

How long does it take, once fabric is cut and a general idea of piecing is done, does it take to sew it all together on the machine? Also, how hard is it to actually quilt on a machine? (I have still yet to use the sewing machine... I know I know... but I have to get the bobbins wound... something i've never done before... and yeah... should be fun...)

DebraK 04-09-2010 08:21 PM

you need to stop worrying about this stuff, and just get in there and sew. I think you are over thinking ;-)

Alu_Rathbone 04-09-2010 08:25 PM

I think I'm afraid of breaking it... I'm going to try it tomorrow... I think... I could probably go play with it now...
but I don't want to make too much noise

Chasing Hawk 04-09-2010 08:43 PM

Originally Posted by Alu_Rathbone
I think I'm afraid of breaking it... I'm going to try it tomorrow... I think... I could probably go play with it now...
but I don't want to make too much noise

Geezz.........Just crank up the tunes as high as it will go and they won't hear the sewing machine at all. :P

MadQuilter 04-09-2010 08:55 PM

You know - the worst thing you can do is mess up and there is generally a do-over.

1. Winding the bobbin: Do you have all the components? empty bobbin, thread, sewing machine manual, machine plugged in.... Follow the instructions to the T and you should be fine.

2. Load the bobbin in the machine. Again, follow the instructions. Is it a drop-in or a shuttle that sits below? If it is a shuttle, you will feel it kind of snap into place. If it isn't seated properly, try again.

3. Thread the machine and pull up the bobbin thread.

4. Select a straight stitch and sew. I start with some scrap pieces just to see how everything works.