Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: How long

Blog Entries
    How long does it take, once fabric is cut and a general idea of piecing is done, does it take to sew it all together on the machine? Also, how hard is it to actually quilt on a machine? (I have still yet to use the sewing machine... I know I know... but I have to get the bobbins wound... something i've never done before... and yeah... should be fun...)

you need to stop worrying about this stuff, and just get in there and sew. I think you are over thinking ;-)

Blog Entries
    I think I'm afraid of breaking it... I'm going to try it tomorrow... I think... I could probably go play with it now...
    but I don't want to make too much noise

Quote Originally Posted by Alu_Rathbone
    I think I'm afraid of breaking it... I'm going to try it tomorrow... I think... I could probably go play with it now...
    but I don't want to make too much noise
    Geezz.........Just crank up the tunes as high as it will go and they won't hear the sewing machine at all. :P

Blog Entries
    You know - the worst thing you can do is mess up and there is generally a do-over.

1. Winding the bobbin: Do you have all the components? empty bobbin, thread, sewing machine manual, machine plugged in.... Follow the instructions to the T and you should be fine.

2. Load the bobbin in the machine. Again, follow the instructions. Is it a drop-in or a shuttle that sits below? If it is a shuttle, you will feel it kind of snap into place. If it isn't seated properly, try again.

3. Thread the machine and pull up the bobbin thread.

4. Select a straight stitch and sew. I start with some scrap pieces just to see how everything works.