Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How Many Are Self Taught? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-many-self-taught-t36177.html)

Boston1954 02-06-2010 12:51 PM

I mean you NEVER took a class. Everything you know about quilting is from trial and error, or books and television.

The reason I never took a class is because when I started out, I did not know they had them. By the time I realized it, I pretty much knew my way around the sewing machine. I still could take one, but now I would rather spend the $$ on more fabric. ;)

thismomquilts 02-06-2010 12:55 PM

Self taught

QuiltingGrannie 02-06-2010 12:56 PM

Never took a class (quilting) in my life. I did have sewing in high school and my mother was a seamstress (clothes) but I've learned all I know about quilting from: Co-worker and customers, a few tips from my daughter, this board, books, and searching the internet.

Newby0709 02-06-2010 12:56 PM

self taught - never taken a class - can't afford it

mpspeedy 02-06-2010 12:58 PM

I am basically self taught. My mother was actually a Home Ec major in college but she didn't have time or energy to teach me to sew. She and I did take a night school tailoring class at the local high school when I was in my late teens. I think I have taken two actual quilting workshops given by quilt instructors but never a one on one instruction. I had been quilting for at least 15 years before I met another actual quilter. I actually entered a quilt in the Great AMerican Quilt Contest to celebrate the BiCentential. My husband took me to NY to the quilt show where the winners and runners up were displayed. That was the first time I saw another living quilters work. I was blown away. In the years since I have seen many a trunk show or talk by a "professional" quilter. I still basically do my own thing.

dakotamaid 02-06-2010 12:58 PM