Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Tangle Mess! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/tangle-mess-t195438.html)

teddysmom 07-23-2012 03:17 AM

Tangle Mess!

I'm a newbie and I learned that all fabric should be washed before cutting and sewing. Did that and my material came out a tangled mess. Had to get scissors and snip out tangles from one material to another. What should I have done? Any suggestions or is this a common problem?

Holice 07-23-2012 03:21 AM

Not that I know of. It is the nature of washing lots of smaller pieces together. Might put in mesh bags, but I've learned to live with it. Dont sheets and towels get tangled up in the wash?

teddysmom 07-23-2012 03:23 AM

On a recent thread, someone suggested using a pinking rotary cutter to stop all the tangling of thread from the other pieces. Anyone tried one?

happyquiltmom 07-23-2012 03:28 AM

I zigzag the raw edges of all my fabric before tossing it into the wash, using old crappy thread like Coats & Clark. Pinking shears work as well.

CindyA 07-23-2012 03:29 AM

If you cut all raw edges with the pinking shears it won't be as bad. You won't have as much tangled mess to cut off and the fabric itself won't get wadded as tight. If I don't feel like using the pinking shears I just bring scissors and cut the mess off before I put it into the dryer.

GailG 07-23-2012 03:31 AM

Serging the cut ends also works.

teddysmom 07-23-2012 03:32 AM

Originally Posted by GailG (Post 5386676)
Serging the cut ends also works.

Thanks but don't have a serger. I hand piece.

Rubesgirl 07-23-2012 03:40 AM